Instantiating Outlook fails in Powershell Studio but works in VS Code

Ask your PowerShell-related questions, including questions on cmdlet development!
Forum rules
Do not post any licensing information in this forum.

Any code longer than three lines should be added as code using the 'Select Code' dropdown menu or attached as a file.
This topic is 10 months and 2 weeks old and has exceeded the time allowed for comments. Please begin a new topic or use the search feature to find a similar but newer topic.
EBO_RogueOne

Instantiating Outlook fails in Powershell Studio but works in VS Code

Post by EBO_RogueOne »

Hello All!

I'm new to PowerShell Studio but I have been using PowerShell for years with other IDEs, originally PowerGui and then VS Code. I'm not a fan of the VS Code environment which is why I switched to PowerShell Studio. I'm sure there are nuances I'm oblivious to which is why I thought I'd seek help here.

I have a process that connects to MS Outlook to search messages for keywords for audit purposes. "This" is the first time running the process in PS Studio, and I have encountered an error that does not happen in VS Code or the PowerShell ISE. When I run the code below, at the "New-Object" line in PS Studio I get the following error message:

1. >> Platform: V5 64Bit (STA)
  2. ERROR: New-Object : Retrieving the COM class factory for component with CLSID {0006F03A-0000-0000-C000-000000000046} failed due to the following error: 80080005
  3. ERROR: Server execution failed (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80080005 (CO_E_SERVER_EXEC_FAILURE)).
  4. PS1_Sandbox.ps1 (6, 8): ERROR: At Line: 6 char: 8
  5. ERROR: + $ol = (New-Object -comobject Outlook.Application)
  6. ERROR: +        ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
  7. ERROR:     + CategoryInfo          : ResourceUnavailable: (:) [New-Object], COMException
  8. ERROR:     + FullyQualifiedErrorId : NoCOMClassIdentified,Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.NewObjectCommand
  9. ERROR: