VBA and UIs

Anything VBScript-related, including Windows Script Host, WMI, ADSI, and more.
Forum rules
Do not post any licensing information in this forum.

Any code longer than three lines should be added as code using the 'Select Code' dropdown menu or attached as a file.
This topic is 2 years and 1 month old and has exceeded the time allowed for comments. Please begin a new topic or use the search feature to find a similar but newer topic.
rslaav
Has voted: 2 times

VBA and UIs

Post by rslaav »

I am very new to VBA (I love to hate VB generally), but it seems like I have not choice but to use it to create an Outlook macro that will do some e-mail related tasks with a users clicks on the button. I am curious as to which tool I would use to create the VBA script, and if there's the option of create a UI with it like I am able to with Powershell?

Also, would it be possible to just do this in powershell, have a UI, and perform the same tasks? The issue is that the users are on different versions of outlook, although the majority of them are on Win10.

p.s. I have a license for Powershell Studio.
jvierra
Answers: 30
Has voted: 4 times
Been upvoted: 33 times

Re: VBA and UIs

Post by jvierra »

VBA is not a scripting language. Microsoft Office products have a built-in VBA editor and debugger.

Macros can be created by recording them without any need for writing code.

I recommend posting to a MSOffice user siter for Outlook as that is where to docs and support for Office VBA programing can be found. Amazon and other booksellers have many books on MS Office use and how to work with Office products/

The following link will explain and give you a place to start.
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/office ... -in-office
rslaav

Post by rslaav »