Connection error

Ask your Windows PowerShell-related questions, including questions on cmdlet development!
Forum rules
Do not post any licensing information in this forum.

Any code longer than three lines should be added as code using the 'Select Code' dropdown menu or attached as a file.
Locked
Sharktracker
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 7:40 am

Connection error

Post by Sharktracker » Wed Sep 12, 2018 2:53 pm

To help you better we need some information from you.

*** Please fill in the fields below. If you leave fields empty or specify 'latest' rather than the actual version your answer will be delayed as we will be forced to ask you for this information. ***

Product, version and build: PowerShell Studio 2018 version 5.5.154

32 or 64 bit version of product: 64 bit
Operating system:
32 or 64 bit OS:64 bit

*** Please add details and screenshots as needed below. ***
I am running PowerShell Studio 2018 version 5.5.154
I can connect to the remote server without any issues
I can list the SharePoint cmdlet get-spsite and it shows up
When I try and run get-spsite (see below) I receive an error on any SharePoint command.
I am the admin of the SharePoint 2016 server and the SQL server

Any ideas why I receive the error?

[SERVERNAME]: PS C:\Users\Username\Documents> Add-PSSnapin Microsoft.SharePoint.Powershell

[SERVERNAME]: PS C:\Users\Username\Documents> get-command get-spsite

CommandType Name Version Source
----------- ---- ------- ------
Cmdlet Get-SPSite 16.0.0.0 Microsoft.SharePoint.Powershell

[SERVERNAME]: PS C:\Users\Username\Documents> get-spsite
Cannot access the local farm. Verify that the local farm is properly configured, currently available, and that you have the appropriate permissions to access
the database before trying again.
+ CategoryInfo : InvalidData: (Microsoft.Share...SPCmdletGetSite:SPCmdletGetSite) [Get-SPSite], SPCmdletException
+ FullyQualifiedErrorId : Microsoft.SharePoint.PowerShell.SPCmdletGetSite

DO NOT POST SUBSCRIPTIONS, KEYS OR ANY OTHER LICENSING INFORMATION IN THIS FORUM

User avatar
brittneyr
Site Admin
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2017 7:20 am

Re: Connection error

Post by brittneyr » Wed Sep 12, 2018 3:23 pm

[TOPIC MOVED TO WINDOWS POWERSHELL FORUM BY MODERATOR]
Brittney Ryn
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
jvierra
Posts: 12895
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 9:57 am
Contact:

Re: Connection error

Post by jvierra » Wed Sep 12, 2018 4:00 pm

You have to specify the site:

Get-SPSite 'http://<site name>'

Sharktracker
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 7:40 am

Re: Connection error

Post by Sharktracker » Thu Sep 13, 2018 8:41 am

Get-spsite without any parameters returns a list of all the sites on the server.

Sharktracker
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 7:40 am

Re: Connection error

Post by Sharktracker » Thu Sep 13, 2018 8:51 am

Why was this move from the PowerShell Studio forum to the Windows PowerShell forum.
I do not encounter this issue when using Windows powerShell. It occurs only whe I use Powershell studio 2018; therefore, it is a PowerShell Studio 2018 connectivity issue.

User avatar
jvierra
Posts: 12895
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 9:57 am
Contact:

Re: Connection error

Post by jvierra » Thu Sep 13, 2018 9:03 am

PowerShell Studio just runs the code in PowerShell. No code runs under PSS. Your question is about how to use a PS command and not how to use PSS.

Please post a simple example of your PSF file so we can look at what you are doing.

Sharktracker
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 7:40 am

Re: Connection error

Post by Sharktracker » Thu Sep 13, 2018 9:22 am

No it is not.
I want to know why I get the error when using PSS to remotely connect to Powershell and running SharePoint Powershell cmdlets.

I do not have an issue with PS remotly connecting to Powershell and running SP PS cmdlets.

User avatar
jvierra
Posts: 12895
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 9:57 am
Contact:

Re: Connection error

Post by jvierra » Thu Sep 13, 2018 9:37 am

You cannot remotely execute many commands because of the "second hop" restriction. The error says that this is the cause as you are getting an error trying to connect to the farm. This is a limitation on all Windows remoting and is not caused by PSS.

"Cannot access the local farm"

This is because the farm is hosted on a remote server. The server you are remoting to cannot access the other servers from a remote connection.

Search for "second hop restriction" for more information.

Sharktracker
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 7:40 am

Re: Connection error

Post by Sharktracker » Thu Sep 13, 2018 9:57 am

Actually just figured out how to connect and run SP PS cmdlets without importing remote cache which seems to be the problem.

Locked