how to send data from workflow to from control?

Ask questions about creating Graphical User Interfaces (GUI) in PowerShell and using WinForms controls.
Forum rules
Do not post any licensing information in this forum.

Any code longer than three lines should be added as code using the 'Select Code' dropdown menu or attached as a file.
Locked
User avatar
pls-sapien
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2016 9:03 pm

how to send data from workflow to from control?

Post by pls-sapien » Sun Apr 28, 2019 8:15 am

Hello all,

im trying to build a form that will display data returned from a parallel workflow.

ive attached a simple form with a workflow but i cant get the workflow to write to the richtextbox...

i think it has to do with runspaces but i do not have the proper knowledge.
thanks,
Sean
Attachments
workflow.Export.txt
(5.92 KiB) Downloaded 19 times

User avatar
jvierra
Posts: 13725
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 9:57 am
Contact:

Re: how to send data from workflow to from control?

Post by jvierra » Sun Apr 28, 2019 2:31 pm

You can attach the PSF file. Attaching a TXT file is not helpful.

To manage results from a workflow in a form run the workflow as a job using the "Job Tracker" control.

User avatar
pls-sapien
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2016 9:03 pm

Re: how to send data from workflow to from control?

Post by pls-sapien » Sun Apr 28, 2019 11:05 pm

Hi Jvierra,
sure here it is
ahh i think i understand what you mean, use the job tracker and start a job of a workflow.
sounds very complicated :)
thank you
Sean
Attachments
workflow.psf
(16.29 KiB) Downloaded 21 times

User avatar
jvierra
Posts: 13725
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 9:57 am
Contact:

Re: how to send data from workflow to from control?

Post by jvierra » Sun Apr 28, 2019 11:25 pm

No. Just place the workflow in the jobscript and collect the output in the update script.

Look at the links here to learn how to use the control set.
https://info.sapien.com/index.php/guis/ ... sive-forms

User avatar
jvierra
Posts: 13725
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 9:57 am
Contact:

Re: how to send data from workflow to from control?

Post by jvierra » Sun Apr 28, 2019 11:30 pm

Also note that you cannot access the form from inside of a workflow. You can only output objects.

A workflow will block a form until it completes unless it is run as a job.

Locked