Packager of 5.6.161.0 is definetly broken!!!!

This forum can be browsed by the general public. Posting is limited to current SAPIEN license holders with active maintenance and does not offer a response time guarantee.
Forum rules
DO NOT POST SUBSCRIPTION NUMBERS, LICENSE KEYS OR ANY OTHER LICENSING INFORMATION IN THIS FORUM.
Only the original author and our tech personnel can reply to a topic that is created in this forum. If you find a topic that relates to an issue you are having, please create a new topic and reference the other in your post.

Any code longer than three lines should be added as code using the 'Select Code' dropdown menu or attached as a file.
info@t4dt.com
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 9:07 am

Packager of 5.6.161.0 is definetly broken!!!!

Post by info@t4dt.com » Thu Apr 11, 2019 7:21 am

To help you better we need some information from you.

*** Please fill in the fields below. If you leave fields empty or specify 'latest' rather than the actual version your answer will be delayed as we will be forced to ask you for this information. ***

Product, version and build: 5.6.161.0
32 or 64 bit version of product: 64bit
Operating system: Windows 10
32 or 64 bit OS: 64bit

*** Please add details and screenshots as needed below. ***

I can confirm, that the packager is bugged. DO NOT UPDATE UR STUDIO TO 5.6.161.0 :evil:
I seems, that special characters, like & or - are not escaped well.
After the update all my projects stops, because of the broken packager

info@t4dt.com
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 9:07 am

Re: Packager of 5.6.161.0 is definetly broken!!!!

Post by info@t4dt.com » Thu Apr 11, 2019 7:44 am

If i pack it to consoleapplication, it doesnt bootstrap. As window app it shows:

Code: Select all

Line 11972: In Zeile:11971 Zeichen:60
+ ...       $value = $CommandLine.Substring($index + 1, $closeIndex – ($i ...
+                                                                  ~
")" fehlt in einem Methodenaufruf.

In Zeile:11971 Zeichen:61
+ ... ue = $CommandLine.Substring($index + 1, $closeIndex – ($index + 1))
+                                                         ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Unerwartetes Token "– ($index + 1))
				[void]$Arguments.Add($value)
				$index = $closeIndex
				
				#Find First Quote 
				$index = $CommandLine.IndexOf('"', $index + 1)
			}
		}..
In the ps1 it is like:

Code: Select all

$value = $CommandLine.Substring($index + 1, $closeIndex – ($index + 1))
			[void]$Arguments.Add($value)

User avatar
Olga_B
Site Admin
Posts: 117
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 9:06 am

Re: Packager of 5.6.161.0 is definetly broken!!!!

Post by Olga_B » Thu Apr 11, 2019 8:11 am

Hello,

what encoding are you using for your script?
Please check update note
UPD: Distinguish UTF-8-BOM and UTF-8 (No BOM) in the encoding menu.
Try to change the encoding to UTF-8-BOM

When you package script are you using the "Resolve and include external scripts" option?

info@t4dt.com
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 9:07 am

Re: Packager of 5.6.161.0 is definetly broken!!!!

Post by info@t4dt.com » Thu Apr 11, 2019 9:06 am

Which script? All my files are created inside powershell studio. I never saw the option to change the encoding of scripts-files in studio. And no i don't use "Resolve and include external scripts". I mark them as shared.

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 6999
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 4:43 pm

Re: Packager of 5.6.161.0 is definetly broken!!!!

Post by Alexander Riedel » Thu Apr 11, 2019 9:09 am

Please indicate the encoding of any script that displays that problem. The current encoding of a script file is displayed on the status bar. Clicking on it shows a menu to change the encoding of the current file.
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 6999
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 4:43 pm

Re: Packager of 5.6.161.0 is definetly broken!!!!

Post by Alexander Riedel » Thu Apr 11, 2019 12:08 pm

After further looking into this, the character that is flagged here is probably a hyphen not a minus sign as you want it to be.
This can happen quite frequently when you copy and paste code from a website.
The screenshot below illustrates the same error message when using an en-dash character instead of a minus sign in a script.
Em dash.png
Em dash.png (46.58 KiB) Viewed 1408 times
I would suggest to specifically erase the hyphen and type a minus character. This should resolve the issue. Unless you have any additional information, I am thinking that this has nothing to do with the packager.
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

info@t4dt.com
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 9:07 am

Re: Packager of 5.6.161.0 is definetly broken!!!!

Post by info@t4dt.com » Fri Apr 12, 2019 2:54 am

Ok, this works. Found one other problems with different paranthesis handling in this version (i could fix this by myself). I am wondering, because this part of the programm is more than four years old and did work all time along. And it does in the studio version 5.6.160.0.
All scripts are encoded in utf8-bom.
Thank you for the good advise!

info@t4dt.com
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 9:07 am

Re: Packager of 5.6.161.0 is definetly broken!!!!

Post by info@t4dt.com » Fri Apr 12, 2019 3:05 am

But one other thing remains: All unicode-signs like ä,ö,ü, ß are wrong in the gui after packaging

User avatar
davidc
Posts: 5913
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:56 am

Re: Packager of 5.6.161.0 is definetly broken!!!!

Post by davidc » Mon Apr 15, 2019 10:11 am

Until the issue is resolved, you can set file's encoding to Unicode (UTF16 LE) as a work-around.
David
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
davidc
Posts: 5913
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:56 am

Re: Packager of 5.6.161.0 is definetly broken!!!!

Post by davidc » Fri Apr 19, 2019 6:47 am

The v5.6.162 service build is now available and should resolve this issue.
David
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.