How to make PowerShell Studio import custom modules?

Use this forum to ask questions after your subscription maintenance expires or before you buy. Need information on licensing or pricing? Questions about a trial version? This is the right place for you. No scripting questions, please.
Forum rules
DO NOT POST SUBSCRIPTION NUMBERS, LICENSE KEYS OR ANY OTHER LICENSING INFORMATION IN THIS FORUM.
Only the original author and our tech personnel can reply to a topic that is created in this forum. If you find a topic that relates to an issue you are having, please create a new topic and reference the other in your post.
User avatar
amloessb
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 4:43 pm

How to make PowerShell Studio import custom modules?

Post by amloessb » Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:37 pm

Product, version and build: PowerShell Studio 2017 (5.4.140.0)
32 or 64 bit version of product: 64-bit
Operating system: Windows 8.1
32 or 64 bit OS: 64-bit

I'm trying to get PowerShell Studio to load some custom modules (.psm1) that I use in a lot of my scripts, so that PrimalSense will be aware of the functions/parameters/etc.

I have done the following in order to attempt to make this happen. (Still can't post images; copy and paste the links to view them.)
  1. Home > Platform > Edit Cache
    https://i.imgur.com/nFrQlCu.png
  2. Import my module, make sure it appears and is checked in the list, build the cache
    https://i.imgur.com/qJ6Nzzo.png
But the functions I have defined there are still showing up as unknown:
https://i.imgur.com/icm2p5I.png
How do I make PowerShell Studio aware of custom module files that I have written?

Thanks.

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 7051
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 4:43 pm

Re: How to make PowerShell Studio import custom modules?

Post by Alexander Riedel » Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:53 pm

If you updated your module without increasing the version number it will not be re-imported because it thinks it is already cached.
So either delete the module first and then import it again or increase the version number when you make changes to your module.
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
amloessb
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 4:43 pm

Re: How to make PowerShell Studio import custom modules?

Post by amloessb » Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:57 pm

This is the first time I have ever tried to import the module, and none of its functions are recognized by PrimalSense, so the version number is irrelevant.

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 7051
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 4:43 pm

Re: How to make PowerShell Studio import custom modules?

Post by Alexander Riedel » Tue Jun 13, 2017 12:19 am

In that case please provide some more information about your module. Is it exporting functions? Classes?
Are none of the functions in your module visible? Can you see the module and its functions in the Object browser?
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
amloessb
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 4:43 pm

Re: How to make PowerShell Studio import custom modules?

Post by amloessb » Tue Jun 13, 2017 1:53 pm

Functions only. One of the functions uses a class via Add-Type as part of its execution, but there are none other than that.

I can see the module itself in the object browser, but clicking the arrowhead to expand it does nothing:
https://i.imgur.com/bCslPDH.png
The normal way that I use this module in my scripts is to just run
Import-Module Path\to\Common-Commands.psm1

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 7051
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 4:43 pm

Re: How to make PowerShell Studio import custom modules?

Post by Alexander Riedel » Tue Jun 13, 2017 2:47 pm

Is it possible for you to send us this module for evaluation?
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
amloessb
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 4:43 pm

Re: How to make PowerShell Studio import custom modules?

Post by amloessb » Tue Jun 13, 2017 3:35 pm

I can't send you that specific module since it contains proprietary code that I can't share, but I can provide a second module that is exhibiting the same behavior. What would be the best way for me to do so?

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 7051
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 4:43 pm

Re: How to make PowerShell Studio import custom modules?

Post by Alexander Riedel » Tue Jun 13, 2017 4:11 pm

Please upload it here and reference this thread: https://www.sapien.com/support/upload
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
amloessb
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 4:43 pm

Re: How to make PowerShell Studio import custom modules?

Post by amloessb » Tue Jun 13, 2017 4:14 pm

Uploaded. Thanks.

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 7051
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 4:43 pm

Re: How to make PowerShell Studio import custom modules?

Post by Alexander Riedel » Tue Jun 13, 2017 9:40 pm

There is no manifest with this module?
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.