Page 1 of 1

PowerShell Studio 2016 VMware vSphere PowerCLI 6.3 Release 1 PowerCLI cmdlets are not displayed in autocomplete

Posted: Sat Apr 02, 2016 7:31 am
by Aliuckanov
PowerShell Studio 2016, 5.2.118, 32 and 64 bit, Operating system: Windows 10 64bit
VMware vSphere PowerCLI 6.3 Release 1 (6.3.0.8194)

PowerCLI cmdlets are not displayed in autocomplete
VmwarePowerCli2.png
VmwarePowerCli2.png (399.33 KiB) Viewed 7054 times
VmwarePowerCli1.png
VmwarePowerCli1.png (403.23 KiB) Viewed 7054 times
PowerShell32V5.Modules.Cache
VMware.VimAutomation.Cis.Core|6.0.0.0|This Windows PowerShell module contains PowerCLI Cloud Infrastructure Suite cmdlets.
VMware.VimAutomation.Cloud|6.3.0.0|This Windows PowerShell module contains PowerCLI Cloud cmdlets.
VMware.VimAutomation.Common|6.3.0.0|This Windows PowerShell module contains functionality required by multiple PowerCLI modules.
VMware.VimAutomation.Core|6.3.0.0|This Windows PowerShell module contains Windows PowerShell cmdlets for managing vSphere.
VMware.VimAutomation.HA|6.0.0.0|This Windows PowerShell module contains PowerCLI HA cmdlets.
VMware.VimAutomation.License|1.0.0.0|This Windows PowerShell module contains sample PowerCLI cmdlets.
VMware.VimAutomation.PCloud|6.0.0.0|This Windows PowerShell module contains PowerCLI vCloud Air cmdlets.
VMware.VimAutomation.SDK|6.3.0.0|This Windows PowerShell module contains PowerCLI Sdk.
VMware.VimAutomation.Storage|6.0.0.0|This Windows PowerShell module contains PowerCLI SPBM cmdlets.
VMware.VimAutomation.Vds|6.3.0.0|This Windows PowerShell module contains PowerCLI VDS cmdlets.
VMware.VimAutomation.vROps|6.3.0.0|This Windows PowerShell module contains PowerCLI vROps cmdlets.
VMware.VumAutomation|6.0.0.0|This Windows PowerShell module contains PowerCLI VUM cmdlets.
PowerShell32V5.Snapins.Cache
VMware.DeployAutomation|6.0.0.4259|
VMware.ImageBuilder|6.0.0.4259|
VMware.VimAutomation.Core|6.3.0.0|
PowerShell64V5.Modules.Cache
VMware.VimAutomation.Cis.Core|6.0.0.0|This Windows PowerShell module contains PowerCLI Cloud Infrastructure Suite cmdlets.
VMware.VimAutomation.Cloud|6.3.0.0|This Windows PowerShell module contains PowerCLI Cloud cmdlets.
VMware.VimAutomation.Common|6.3.0.0|This Windows PowerShell module contains functionality required by multiple PowerCLI modules.
VMware.VimAutomation.Core|6.3.0.0|This Windows PowerShell module contains Windows PowerShell cmdlets for managing vSphere.
VMware.VimAutomation.HA|6.0.0.0|This Windows PowerShell module contains PowerCLI HA cmdlets.
VMware.VimAutomation.License|1.0.0.0|This Windows PowerShell module contains sample PowerCLI cmdlets.
VMware.VimAutomation.PCloud|6.0.0.0|This Windows PowerShell module contains PowerCLI vCloud Air cmdlets.
VMware.VimAutomation.SDK|6.3.0.0|This Windows PowerShell module contains PowerCLI Sdk.
VMware.VimAutomation.Storage|6.0.0.0|This Windows PowerShell module contains PowerCLI SPBM cmdlets.
VMware.VimAutomation.Vds|6.3.0.0|This Windows PowerShell module contains PowerCLI VDS cmdlets.
VMware.VimAutomation.vROps|6.3.0.0|This Windows PowerShell module contains PowerCLI vROps cmdlets.
VMware.VumAutomation|6.0.0.0|This Windows PowerShell module contains PowerCLI VUM cmdlets.
PowerShell64V5.Snapins.Cache
VMware.DeployAutomation|6.0.0.4259|
VMware.ImageBuilder|6.0.0.4259|
VMware.VimAutomation.Core|6.3.0.0|

Re: PowerShell Studio 2016 VMware vSphere PowerCLI 6.3 Release 1 PowerCLI cmdlets are not displayed in autocomplete

Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2016 9:06 am
by davidc
We are investigating the issue and will get back to you as soon as possible.

David

Re: PowerShell Studio 2016 VMware vSphere PowerCLI 6.3 Release 1 PowerCLI cmdlets are not displayed in autocomplete

Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2016 10:26 am
by davidc
It seems that we are missing the snapin cache files for that version. I attached the necessary files to this topic.
VMware.ImageBuilder.6.0.0.4259.zip
(42.24 KiB) Downloaded 159 times
1. Unzip the files and move them to the following folder:

C:\ProgramData\SAPIEN\PresetCache 2016\ModuleCacheV5

2. Open PowerShell Studio and refresh the cache (Ribbon->Home->Platform->Refresh Local Cache):
Rebuild Cache.png
Rebuild Cache.png (16.64 KiB) Viewed 6816 times
3. Once the cache completes, the cmdlets should be appear in the list.

David

Re: PowerShell Studio 2016 VMware vSphere PowerCLI 6.3 Release 1 PowerCLI cmdlets are not displayed in autocomplete

Posted: Tue May 03, 2016 8:29 am
by larrybtagao
Hello. Just wondering if you managed to get this working. Experiencing this exact same issue with PowerCLI 6.0 Release 3 and Powershell Studio 2016 on Windows 10. I have PrimalScript installed and autocomplete for PowerCLI works with it but not with PS Studio.

'Get-module -listavailable' does list all PowerCLI modules (binary and script) and 'ModuleCacheV5' folder has the cache for PowerCLI 6.0 modules. Also rebuilt the cache by running CacheBuilder and it still doesn't work. Somebody please help here. I'd be using PS Studio mostly for PowerCLI so I need this working before I buy. Thanks.

Re: PowerShell Studio 2016 VMware vSphere PowerCLI 6.3 Release 1 PowerCLI cmdlets are not displayed in autocomplete

Posted: Tue May 03, 2016 8:51 am
by davidc
There is a bug in the cache that orphans the cmdlets of a module (fixed in upcoming build), but the cmdlets will still color if you have the Show and Color All Cmdlets option checked in Options->PrimalSense:
PrimalSense Coloring.png
PrimalSense Coloring.png (23.2 KiB) Viewed 5596 times
David

Re: PowerShell Studio 2016 VMware vSphere PowerCLI 6.3 Release 1 PowerCLI cmdlets are not displayed in autocomplete

Posted: Tue May 03, 2016 9:24 am
by larrybtagao
I mean autocomplete/Intellisense (not just cmdlet coloring) works on PrimalScript, but not on Powershell Studio. Both were installed at the same time.

I also noticed that only the PowerCLI cmdlets for script modules don't work (VMware.VimAutomation.Core, VMware.VimAutomation.SDK). The cmdlets for the binary modules work just fine.

Is there any workaround to this before the next build? When will the next build be released?

Re: PowerShell Studio 2016 VMware vSphere PowerCLI 6.3 Release 1 PowerCLI cmdlets are not displayed in autocomplete

Posted: Tue May 03, 2016 9:40 am
by davidc
We release updates for PowerShell Studio fairly frequently. Unfortunately there isn't a work-around but will push for a release.

David