Support Forums

Improper Argument when connecting to remote server

Use this forum to ask questions before you buy. Need information on licensing or pricing? Questions about a trial version? This is the right place for you. No scripting questions, please.
Forum rules
DO NOT POST SUBSCRIPTION NUMBERS, LICENSE KEYS OR ANY OTHER LICENSING INFORMATION IN THIS FORUM.
Only the original author and our tech personnel can reply to a topic that is created in this forum. If you find a topic that relates to an issue you are having, please create a new topic and reference the other in your post.
User avatar
merickson91
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 9:07 am

Improper Argument when connecting to remote server

Postby merickson91 » Mon Dec 28, 2015 9:30 am

I've just installed WMI Explorer 2015 (45-day trial). I'm running a Windows 10 pro OS and I'm receiving an error when I try to connect to ANY remote server. The error is simply a big red x with "Encountered an improper argument". Connecting to a remote server and exploring their WMI classes is a key piece of functionality I'm looking for. Thanks for any help!
User avatar
DevinL
Site Admin
Posts: 570
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2015 2:25 pm

Re: Improper Argument when connecting to remote server

Postby DevinL » Mon Dec 28, 2015 9:42 am

What kind of remote servers are you attempting to connect to?
DevinL
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.
User avatar
merickson91
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 9:07 am

Re: Improper Argument when connecting to remote server

Postby merickson91 » Mon Dec 28, 2015 10:07 am

I'm trying to connect to 2008 R2 and 2012 R2 servers.
User avatar
DevinL
Site Admin
Posts: 570
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2015 2:25 pm

Re: Improper Argument when connecting to remote server

Postby DevinL » Mon Dec 28, 2015 11:58 am

I've managed to recreate your issue and narrowed it down to something with Windows 10. When using a Windows 7 machine I could connect to the 2012 server without issue, Windows 10 threw the Improper Argument error. Thanks for bringing this to our attention, we are looking into it.
DevinL
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.
User avatar
DevinL
Site Admin
Posts: 570
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2015 2:25 pm

Re: Improper Argument when connecting to remote server

Postby DevinL » Tue Dec 29, 2015 6:06 pm

I've learned that this is a permission issue in Windows 10. We're looking into it further and will respond back when we have more information.
DevinL
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

Return to “Trial Software Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest