Custom Assemblies in Primal Forms

Use this forum to ask questions before you buy. Need information on licensing or pricing? Questions about a trial version? This is the right place for you. No scripting questions, please.
Forum rules
DO NOT POST SUBSCRIPTION NUMBERS, LICENSE KEYS OR ANY OTHER LICENSING INFORMATION IN THIS FORUM.
Only the original author and our tech personnel can reply to a topic that is created in this forum. If you find a topic that relates to an issue you are having, please create a new topic and reference the other in your post.
User avatar
scotthawks
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 2:32 am

Custom Assemblies in Primal Forms

Post by scotthawks » Tue Jan 19, 2010 2:32 am

I have a custom .dll file what was built for us by a developer for one of our internal products. I can access the .dll from powershell script or console just fine. however, when i try to access it from primal forms, it says it can not see the file. do assemblies have to have strong name to be seen by primal forms? if not, why won't it see my assembly?

User avatar
davidc
Posts: 5642
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:56 am

Custom Assemblies in Primal Forms

Post by davidc » Tue Jan 19, 2010 3:49 am

What type of dll is it? Is it a .NET Assembly?
If it is a .NET Assembly, then it has to be loaded using its fully qualified name and not just by its file path. This is the case because an assembly can be installed in any number of locations on different machines.

David
David
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
scotthawks
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 2:32 am

Custom Assemblies in Primal Forms

Post by scotthawks » Tue Jan 19, 2010 4:18 am

Does it have to be part of the GAC to load that way?? The .dll is an assembly, but is not part of the GAC, and currently can't be added to GAC because it doesn't have strong name. If it doesn't have to be part of GAC, how do i load it?

User avatar
davidc
Posts: 5642
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:56 am

Custom Assemblies in Primal Forms

Post by davidc » Tue Jan 19, 2010 4:23 am

Yes, it has to be part of the GAC to load. Is there a reason why a strong name can't be added?

David
David
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
scotthawks
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 2:32 am

Custom Assemblies in Primal Forms

Post by scotthawks » Tue Jan 19, 2010 4:25 am

We didn't develop the .dll. a third party vendor did. i have a request into him to do this, but he usually takes a while to get things done. I would be happy to do if i knew how.

User avatar
davidc
Posts: 5642
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:56 am

Custom Assemblies in Primal Forms

Post by davidc » Wed Jan 20, 2010 4:10 am

Can you copy the custom assembly into PrimalForms directory and it will allow the application to load the assembly.
David
David
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
scotthawks
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 2:32 am

Custom Assemblies in Primal Forms

Post by scotthawks » Wed Jan 20, 2010 5:34 am

That worked. Why? How can i deploy this without registering the dll?

User avatar
davidc
Posts: 5642
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:56 am

Custom Assemblies in Primal Forms

Post by davidc » Wed Jan 20, 2010 8:28 am

It has to do with the way .NET handles assemblies. If the assembly is not in the global cache, it will look for the file locally. We are looking into making it easier for users to use custom assemblies.

As for deploying, if you create a package exe, you simple have to make sure the assembly is in the same folder as the packaged exe.
David
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.