SAPIEN Updates.exe crashes

Use this forum to ask questions about installation or issues encountered while installing our software.
Forum rules
DO NOT POST SUBSCRIPTION NUMBERS, LICENSE KEYS OR ANY OTHER LICENSING INFORMATION IN THIS FORUM.
Only the original author and our tech personnel can reply to a topic that is created in this forum. If you find a topic that relates to an issue you are having, please create a new topic and reference the other in your post.
User avatar
n1mdas
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 2:05 pm

SAPIEN Updates.exe crashes

Post by n1mdas »

Hello Sapien Team,
I could not locate a category about app/service crashes.
When running the Sapien Updates app it crashes with the below:

Faulting application name: SAPIEN Updates.exe, version: 1.1.36.0, time stamp: 0x5ed93715
Faulting module name: BCGCBPRO3051u142.dll, version: 30.51.0.0, time stamp: 0x5ed92768
Exception code: 0xc000041d
Fault offset: 0x00000000001970d4
Faulting process id: 0x2570
Faulting application start time: 0x01d6473358e32fbd
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\SAPIEN Technologies, Inc\SAPIEN Updates\SAPIEN Updates.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Program Files\SAPIEN Technologies, Inc\SAPIEN Updates\BCGCBPRO3051u142.dll
Report Id: 97699782-b326-11ea-8350-e03f496e61eb
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:

I can collect procdump application crash + provide msinfo32.

I tried repairing it - does not help. I removed it - did not help either. After that installed on the PC PS 5.7.179 with the hope it will reregister the dll but app crash remains. The other apps I have present open without any problem.
Would that be sufficient or shall I collect anything else? It happens on Windows 8 x64/ 6.3 build 9600 and no recent windows etc updates have been installed.

Thank you

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 7377
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 4:43 pm

Re: SAPIEN Updates.exe crashes

Post by Alexander Riedel »

Thanks for letting us know. This is not a COM dll that would be registered.
Can you provide more details as to when this happens? Right on startup? Later? Do you see the window before this happens?
Thanks.
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
n1mdas
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 2:05 pm

Re: SAPIEN Updates.exe crashes

Post by n1mdas »

it happens if it is executed directly (standalone exe) or when called from Sapien PS Studio or any other app. The window shows (with any previous updates for example) then crashes and logs the application crash

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 7377
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 4:43 pm

Re: SAPIEN Updates.exe crashes

Post by Alexander Riedel »

Can you please tell us which actual products you have installed?
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 7377
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 4:43 pm

Re: SAPIEN Updates.exe crashes

Post by Alexander Riedel »

This particular crash could possibly be linked to a missing Windows update: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/hel ... -web-based
Please check if the patch mention in this link is installed on your system.
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
n1mdas
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 2:05 pm

Re: SAPIEN Updates.exe crashes

Post by n1mdas »

1. Collected the process crash via procdump64.exe -ma -i C:\Dumps and disabled it of course afterwards.
2. Tried to open the dmp via windbg to try checking if "i can see" with the public MS symsbols at least something so I listed it below:

Microsoft (R) Windows Debugger Version 6.3.9600.17336 AMD64. Copyright (c) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

Loading Dump File [C:\Dumps\SAPIEN Updates.exe_200620_233443.dmp]
User Mini Dump File with Full Memory: Only application data is available

Comment: '
*** "C:\Users\sc2\Downloads\SysinternalsSuite\procdump64.exe" -accepteula -ma -j "C:\Dumps" 6556 212 000000EE6F6C0000
*** Just-In-Time debugger. PID: 6556 Event Handle: 212 JIT Context: .jdinfo 0xee6f6c0000'
Symbol search path is: *** Invalid ***
****************************************************************************
* Symbol loading may be unreliable without a symbol search path. *
* Use .symfix to have the debugger choose a symbol path. *
* After setting your symbol path, use .reload to refresh symbol locations. *
****************************************************************************
Executable search path is:
Windows 8 Version 9600 MP (8 procs) Free x64
Product: WinNt, suite: SingleUserTS
Built by: 6.3.9600.18217 (winblue_ltsb.160124-0053)
Machine Name:
Debug session time: Sat Jun 20 23:34:43.000 2020 (UTC + 3:00)
System Uptime: 5 days 23:18:58.464
Process Uptime: 0 days 0:00:01.000
................................................................
................................
*** ERROR: Symbol file could not be found. Defaulted to export symbols for ntdll.dll -

************* Symbol Loading Error Summary **************
Module name Error
ntdll The system cannot find the file specified

You can troubleshoot most symbol related issues by turning on symbol loading diagnostics (!sym noisy) and repeating the command that caused symbols to be loaded.
You should also verify that your symbol search path (.sympath) is correct.
This dump file has an exception of interest stored in it.
The stored exception information can be accessed via .ecxr.
(199c.1c6c): Unknown exception - code c000041d (first/second chance not available)
*** WARNING: Unable to verify checksum for BCGCBPRO3051u142.dll
*** ERROR: Symbol file could not be found. Defaulted to export symbols for BCGCBPRO3051u142.dll -
BCGCBPRO3051u142!CBCGPEdit::get_accValue+0x84:
00000001`801970d4 0f29442420 movaps xmmword ptr [rsp+20h],xmm0 ss:000000ee`697d3ff0=00000000000000000000000000000000

On windows 8 I haven't tested it recently and may have done it incorrectly.
If not wrong " WARNING: Unable to verify checksum for BCGCBPRO3051u142.dll" Does it mean that the file is corrupt and therefore does not start? Is there a way to get a working one from you?
And as far as I know public symbols might not be accessible anymore under Windows 8.

Unfortunately, i cannot upload it as the dmp file is 115 MB in size.
Attachments
Report_appcrash_SapienUpdates.zip
(2.43 KiB) Downloaded 5 times

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 7377
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 4:43 pm

Re: SAPIEN Updates.exe crashes

Post by Alexander Riedel »

Thank you for providing this information. The checksum warning occurs because your system has no way of knowing what the correct checksum would be.
Unfortunately this crashdump file is not helpful in this type of situation.
The application does not crash on an updated and current Windows 10 system, hence my questions on which SAPIEN applications are installed and if that particular patch is shown as installed on your system.
The type of error indicates that it is related to SAPIEN Updates accessing an online resource through the Windows web control, which basically is IE.
I will then forward your information to QA to see if they can replicate that information.
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.