Support Forums

Output results do not show arrays

Product support for WMI Explorer users
Forum rules
DO NOT POST SUBSCRIPTION NUMBERS, LICENSE KEYS OR ANY OTHER LICENSING INFORMATION IN THIS FORUM.
Only the original author and our tech personnel can reply to a topic that is created in this forum. If you find a topic that relates to an issue you are having, please create a new topic and reference the other in your post.
User avatar
whompem
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 7:27 am

Output results do not show arrays

Postby whompem » Sat Jun 28, 2014 12:03 pm

When getting instances in WMI Explorer (using latest version 2.0.41) When running a query, the output results do not show anything if the datatype is an array of xx, and the property/method only says the base data type (string for example) instead of identifying it as an array.

I had to switch to CIM Studio (or write code) to extract arrays of values. I'm not sure if this should be considered a bug or a feature enhancement request.
User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 5857
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 4:43 pm

Re: Output results do not show arrays

Postby Alexander Riedel » Sat Jun 28, 2014 12:53 pm

It is supposed to show arrays.
Maybe you can be more specific and tell us how you run the query and what exact class and property? That way we can look and find out what happens.
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.
User avatar
whompem
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 7:27 am

Re: Output results do not show arrays

Postby whompem » Sat Jun 28, 2014 1:31 pm

Select * From Win32_NetworkAdapterConfiguration. The Output results have IPAddress blank. This is an array of strings but it doesn't say it is an array in the CIMType/.NET Type, nor does it have a value or a button to press to enumerate the array. When I tried using the property list option, it just came back with null entries for values for IPAddress. If there is another way to enumerate an array I don't see it - even the export didn't include the array's individual values.

The attached image is what I see for IP address and according to wbemtest, the first record should have 2 IP addresses, 1 IPv4 and 1 IPv6.

The sample that I actually needed to see the values was for the root\ccm namespace (which is the SCCM client) so this example provides the same experience I had for what I was actually trying to accomplish.
Attachments
Untitled.png
Untitled.png (962 Bytes) Viewed 6204 times
User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 5857
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 4:43 pm

Re: Output results do not show arrays

Postby Alexander Riedel » Sat Jun 28, 2014 1:41 pm

I see what you mean. I will look into it.
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.
User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 5857
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 4:43 pm

Re: Output results do not show arrays

Postby Alexander Riedel » Mon Jun 30, 2014 8:43 am

This issue will be resolved in the next service build.
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.
User avatar
whompem
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 7:27 am

Re: Output results do not show arrays

Postby whompem » Tue Jul 01, 2014 10:51 am

Thanks for the update.
User avatar
whompem
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 7:27 am

Re: Output results do not show arrays

Postby whompem » Thu Jul 17, 2014 5:35 pm

Arrays now show with the latest release.

Return to “WMI Explorer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest