What does "Synchronize newer files" do?

This forum can be browsed by the general public. Posting is limited to current SAPIEN license holders with active maintenance and does not offer a response time guarantee.
Forum rules
DO NOT POST SUBSCRIPTION NUMBERS, LICENSE KEYS OR ANY OTHER LICENSING INFORMATION IN THIS FORUM.
Only the original author and our tech personnel can reply to a topic that is created in this forum. If you find a topic that relates to an issue you are having, please create a new topic and reference the other in your post.

Any code longer than three lines should be added as code using the 'Select Code' dropdown menu or attached as a file.
User avatar
pmascari
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 10:45 am

What does "Synchronize newer files" do?

Post by pmascari » Fri May 17, 2019 9:53 am

In the Properties window of a repository is a checkbox, that is UNchecked by default, labeled: "Synchronize newer files". I've looked through the help files and documentation but haven't found a description of what this does.

Can you help?

User avatar
brittneyr
Site Admin
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2017 7:20 am

Re: What does "Synchronize newer files" do?

Post by brittneyr » Fri May 17, 2019 11:09 am

If two or machines are used to edit the files, this setting can copy the newer files back to the other machines from the repository.

For example, say you have a desktop and a laptop with VersionRecall pushing versions to the same repository. You update CreateAccts.ps1 on machine A and it gets pushed to the repository. Machine B connects to the same repository. This setting will copy the newer files back to machine B from the repository when you do a Copy All or use the service.
Brittney Ryn
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.