Moving VersionRecall to new server

This forum can be browsed by the general public. Posting is limited to current SAPIEN license holders with active maintenance and does not offer a response time guarantee.
Forum rules
DO NOT POST SUBSCRIPTION NUMBERS, LICENSE KEYS OR ANY OTHER LICENSING INFORMATION IN THIS FORUM.
Only the original author and our tech personnel can reply to a topic that is created in this forum. If you find a topic that relates to an issue you are having, please create a new topic and reference the other in your post.

Any code longer than three lines should be added as code using the 'Select Code' dropdown menu or attached as a file.
User avatar
ssr025
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2015 9:59 am

Moving VersionRecall to new server

Post by ssr025 » Fri Jan 25, 2019 11:32 am

To help you better we need some information from you.

*** Please fill in the fields below. If you leave fields empty or specify 'latest' rather than the actual version your answer will be delayed as we will be forced to ask you for this information. ***

Product, version and build: VersionRecall 1.1.27
32 or 64 bit version of product: 64
Operating system: 64
32 or 64 bit OS:

We have moved our source code to a new server and I'm trying to figure out how to move our existing VersionRecall repository from the old server to the new one. Can someone provide the steps to do this? I have VersionRecall installed on the new server.

Thanks, Steve

User avatar
Olga_B
Site Admin
Posts: 117
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 9:06 am

Re: Moving VersionRecall to new server

Post by Olga_B » Fri Jan 25, 2019 12:22 pm

From the Ribbon click on Repository Tab
Use Move Repository menu item

And this is from Help:

Repository Tab
There are options on the Repository tab you can use to manage your repositories. They are found on the left menu. We’ll discuss them one at a time next.

· Import Repository… – If you want to import all files and folders from a repository to which you have not been previously connected, this will copy all files to your local drive and connect you to the selected repository.

· Move Repository – Should you decide that you want your repository in another location this will move it for you. It will move all the files with it so if you’ve got a large repository it can take some time to complete this operation. Also, this works on the currently open repository so if you open VersionRecall you have to go to the Repository tab and open a repository, then go back to the Repository tab and click Move Repository. Then choose the new location you would like for the repository. This option doesn’t have any effect on the folder being monitored, only the target.

· Copy Repository – This option copies the repository files to a new location.

[img][/download/file.php?mode=view&id=4382img]
Attachments
VRK-MoveRep.png
VRK-MoveRep.png (47.78 KiB) Viewed 464 times

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 6998
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 4:43 pm

Re: Moving VersionRecall to new server

Post by Alexander Riedel » Fri Jan 25, 2019 1:18 pm

Please note that you should not keep your code and the repository on the same machine. VersionRecall was designed to be run on client machines with sandboxed code and a repository shared across a network. Keeping all on the same machine will not alleviate data loss when hardware fails.
Please read https://info.sapien.com/index.php/versi ... st-of-us-2 for more information.
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.