Restart System Tray

Support for all customers who have purchased a VersionRecall product license. This forum does not offer a response time guarantee.
Forum rules
DO NOT POST SUBSCRIPTION NUMBERS, LICENSE KEYS OR ANY OTHER LICENSING INFORMATION IN THIS FORUM.
Only the original author and our tech personnel can reply to a topic that is created in this forum. If you find a topic that relates to an issue you are having, please create a new topic and reference the other in your post.
User avatar
pmascari
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 10:45 am

Restart System Tray

Post by pmascari » Fri Jan 06, 2017 10:23 am

VersionRecall 2016, 1.2.131
64 bit version of product: VersionRecall
64 bit OS: Win2008

Our server was bogged down and running real slow. We found the VersionRecall system tray EXE file was hogging all the CPU. We ended the process. How can we restart the system tray process without rebooting? Is it even needed (we assume it is)?

Thanks!

User avatar
DevinL
Site Admin
Posts: 1098
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2015 2:25 pm

Re: Restart System Tray

Post by DevinL » Fri Jan 06, 2017 10:29 am

The system tray app is used to help keep your repository synced by either updating at the set time or using the interval that you give it so I highly recommend keeping it up and running if possible.

It is located at C:\Program Files\SAPIEN Technologies, Inc\VersionRecall\VRKTray.exe so if it's not running, just launch that exe and it'll be good to go.
DevinL
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 6188
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 4:43 pm

Re: Restart System Tray

Post by Alexander Riedel » Fri Jan 06, 2017 10:39 am

It should not hog all the CPU. Normally, unless it is updating the repository, it should use virtually no CPU.
Can you tell us how you have it configured?
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
pmascari
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 10:45 am

Re: Restart System Tray

Post by pmascari » Fri Jan 06, 2017 1:17 pm

Thanks. It started right back up no problem.

I'm not sure why it was hogging CPU. We have 7 repositories watched, log updates is checked, update every 60 minutes.

One other note...as we were trying to shut it down without using Task Manager, we were NOT able to access the tray menu by right-click. The whole thing seemed locked up.

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 6188
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 4:43 pm

Re: Restart System Tray

Post by Alexander Riedel » Fri Jan 06, 2017 2:30 pm

The reason for this could be a configuration problem on one of the repositories.
Can you send an email to support@sapien.com detailing where the watched folders are and the respective repositories?
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.