Referencing Variables across the events

Ask questions about creating Graphical User Interfaces (GUI) in PowerShell and using WinForms controls.
Forum rules
Do not post any licensing information in this forum.

Any code longer than three lines should be added as code using the 'Select Code' dropdown menu or attached as a file.
This topic is 7 years and 4 months old and has exceeded the time allowed for comments. Please begin a new topic or use the search feature to find a similar but newer topic.
v_2nas

Referencing Variables across the events

Post by v_2nas »

PowerShell Studio 2016 x64
Win 7 Pro SP 1 x64

Pardon my ignorance here as I am new to WFC, I wanted to know if variables can be called between the click events. Below are 2 click events from the powershell gui form.

Now when I debug the script, i notice that $invoicepath and $AllBusinessPartners would show as empty objects however in the scope of click event they do contain the values.

I understand that I can use $Script:variable to call the variables anywhere in the script however i want to have better understanding if the variables can be called as we use to do in regular ps scripts.

$buttonSelectInvoiceFolder_Click={
#TODO: Place custom script here

$folderbrowsermoderndialog1.Title = "Select Invoice Root Folder"
if ($folderbrowsermoderndialog1.ShowDialog() -eq 'OK')
{
$InvoicePath = $folderbrowsermoderndialog1.SelectedPath
$statusbar1.Text = "Invoice Root Folder: $($InvoicePath)"
}
}

$buttonParseInvoices_Click= {

#TODO: Place custom script here
$AllInvoices = @()
$AllInvoices = (Get-ChildItem $InvoicePath).Name

# Calling ParseInvoices Function and passing AllInvoices and AllBusinessPartners arrayObject
ParseInvoices -AllInvoices $AllInvoices -AllBusinessPartners $AllBusinessPartners
}
davidc
Been upvoted: 2 times

Re: Referencing Variables across the events

Post by davidc »

[TOPIC MOVED TO POWERSHELL GUIS FORUM BY MODERATOR]
David
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.
jvierra
Answers: 30
Has voted: 4 times