How to create Subfolders and assign permissions

Anything VBScript-related, including Windows Script Host, WMI, ADSI, and more.
Forum rules
Do not post any licensing information in this forum.

Any code longer than three lines should be added as code using the 'Select Code' dropdown menu or attached as a file.
bimbo

Post by bimbo » Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:13 am

I am new to scripting and I am trying to write a script that would create a folder structure and subfolders similar to pic below:

MainFolder |_ Subfolder1 |_ Subfolder 1A |_ Subfolder 1B |_ Subfolder2 |_ Subfolder 2A |_ Subfolder 2B |_ Subfolder 2C
|_ Subfolder3 |_ Subfolder 3A |_ Subfolder 3B |_ Subfolder 3B1 |_ Subfolder 3B2
The script would perform the following functions:
STEP 1) Prompt the user to enter the name of the "MainFolder" to create. (e.g User1) If "MainFolder" already exist then exit. Else creates folder and subfolders.
STEP 2) Assign permissions to a folder and subfolders for specific users groups. (Administrator Full Control, Sales (read), HR (Modify)
I was able to find a script that performs most of the task in Step1.
a) Prompt user to enter the name of the folder to create b) Create folder and Subfolders
The script does not allow me to create folders within a Subfolder as per below pic |_ Subfolder3 |_ Subfolder 3A |_ Subfolder 3B |_ Subfolder 3B1 |_ Subfolder 3B2 The other issue, I'm not sure how to incorporate STEP 2 in the script as well.

Thank very much for your help
**** Script Sample ***