How to use 'Run As Specified User' credentials in my script further ?

Ask your Windows PowerShell-related questions, including questions on cmdlet development!
Forum rules
Do not post any licensing information in this forum.
Locked
User avatar
ashish44s
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2016 10:06 am

How to use 'Run As Specified User' credentials in my script further ?

Post by ashish44s » Thu Feb 11, 2016 10:16 am

Hi All,

Greetings !!!

I'm using PowerShell Studio 2012 to create one tool to perform different administrative tasks. I do not want to run the output tool.exe as an administrator. I want to run that as 'Run As Different User' and provide credentials at that time. Also, I want to use those credentials further in my script to perform several tasks on remote computers without providing them again and again during run-time.

Can you please help to suggest a method to do that ?

Thanks...

User avatar
jvierra
Posts: 11553
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 9:57 am
Contact:

Re: How to use 'Run As Specified User' credentials in my script further ?

Post by jvierra » Thu Feb 11, 2016 12:47 pm

You can't. You can re-launch your script using credentials

$cred=Get-Credential
start-process -FilePath powershell -ArgumentList "c:\temp\myscrip.ps1" -Credential $cred

User avatar
ashish44s
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2016 10:06 am

Re: How to use 'Run As Specified User' credentials in my script further ?

Post by ashish44s » Thu Feb 11, 2016 2:58 pm

Do you know how and where PowerShell Studio keeps my credentials when I launch EXE with 'Run As Different User' ?
I'm asking because I'm able to do some task written in script with those provided credential as cmdlets don't require them For e.g. Get-Service

But, if I need to run a command to remove app-v package on remote machine, it requires credentials if used with Invoke-Command.

Invoke-Command -ComputerName $c -ScriptBlock {Remove-AppvClientPackage -Name XXX} -Credential $cred


I want to use $cred as what I provided to run my EXE.

User avatar
jvierra
Posts: 11553
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 9:57 am
Contact:

Re: How to use 'Run As Specified User' credentials in my script further ?

Post by jvierra » Thu Feb 11, 2016 5:19 pm

$cred is not stored anywhere.

When you use RunAs the credentials are stored in the password vault. Unfortunately it requires elevation to retrieve the password.

Locked