ChangeVue 2011 can't find repository

Archived Product support for ChangeVue users
StupidSexyFlanders
Posts: 107
Last visit: Tue Dec 31, 2019 12:35 pm

ChangeVue 2011 can't find repository

Post by StupidSexyFlanders »

Looks like I am not the only one having this issue. In short, when I try to launch ChangeVue 2011 I am told that I have to define a repository.

However, I did that when I first installed ChangeVue and everything was working like a champ up until yesterday. I can access my local file and I can access the remote storage fine. I am getting the exact same message reported in this thread: http://www.sapien.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=2031

I tried the troubleshooting steps listing there, but I still cannot get CV to recognize with my local or remote repositories. I don't have anything (e.g. group policy) preventing access to my appdata folder.
Last edited by J A Reif on Thu May 09, 2013 11:57 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: updated url

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 7607
Last visit: Fri Mar 05, 2021 1:33 pm
Answers: 2
Been upvoted: 6 times

ChangeVue 2011 can't find repository

Post by Alexander Riedel »

I will create a build that logs steps as executed so we can find out what exactly happens. I'll let you know when it is up.
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 7607
Last visit: Fri Mar 05, 2021 1:33 pm
Answers: 2
Been upvoted: 6 times

ChangeVue 2011 can't find repository

Post by Alexander Riedel »

Start changevue.exe as

ChangeVue /l:4

Then, after closing it, look here:
C:Users<user>AppDataLocalTempSAPIEN*Log.txt
and email any log files to support@sapien.com
please
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

StupidSexyFlanders
Posts: 107
Last visit: Tue Dec 31, 2019 12:35 pm

ChangeVue 2011 can't find repository

Post by StupidSexyFlanders »

You mentioned a new build. Will I have to update CV before doing this?
Mike

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 7607
Last visit: Fri Mar 05, 2021 1:33 pm
Answers: 2
Been upvoted: 6 times

ChangeVue 2011 can't find repository

Post by Alexander Riedel »

Nope. I realized that was already built in, sorry for the confusion.
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

StupidSexyFlanders
Posts: 107
Last visit: Tue Dec 31, 2019 12:35 pm

ChangeVue 2011 can't find repository

Post by StupidSexyFlanders »

Cool. I will give that a try. Should I still connect to my existing local repository first?
Mike

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 7607
Last visit: Fri Mar 05, 2021 1:33 pm
Answers: 2
Been upvoted: 6 times

ChangeVue 2011 can't find repository

Post by Alexander Riedel »

Yup.
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

StupidSexyFlanders
Posts: 107
Last visit: Tue Dec 31, 2019 12:35 pm

ChangeVue 2011 can't find repository

Post by StupidSexyFlanders »

Well, I did what you said with the exception for closing ChangeVue. The only UI I ever got what the 'browse' dialog. When I browsed to where my local repository is, it said there was no repository there (which is the same issue as before) and CV never appeared to ever really "open".

Anyway, I cound find no log file (or any file for that matter) at the location you listed. There was an existing folder called 'TempProject', but it was empty.mbaker2011-12-21 21:50:00
Mike

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 7607
Last visit: Fri Mar 05, 2021 1:33 pm
Answers: 2
Been upvoted: 6 times

ChangeVue 2011 can't find repository

Post by Alexander Riedel »

The log only gets written when closing ChangeVue.
Please make sure to launch it with
ChangeVue.exe /l:4
That is a lowercase L....
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

StupidSexyFlanders
Posts: 107
Last visit: Tue Dec 31, 2019 12:35 pm

ChangeVue 2011 can't find repository

Post by StupidSexyFlanders »

I was launching the exe as you said. But the message indicates I cannot open CV unless I define a repository. Since it's not recognizing my existing repository (either local or remote), CV never opens. Am I missing a step here?
Mike

Locked