Unable to use the word TYPE in statement

Support for all customers who have purchased a PrimalSQL product license. This forum does not offer a response time guarantee.
Forum rules
DO NOT POST SUBSCRIPTION NUMBERS, LICENSE KEYS OR ANY OTHER LICENSING INFORMATION IN THIS FORUM.
Only the original author and our tech personnel can reply to a topic that is created in this forum. If you find a topic that relates to an issue you are having, please create a new topic and reference the other in your post.

Any code longer than three lines should be added as code using the 'Select Code' dropdown menu or attached as a file.
User avatar
jjdynamite
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 12:31 am

Unable to use the word TYPE in statement

Post by jjdynamite » Tue May 19, 2009 12:31 am

I noticed that when you use the work TYPE in a SELECT statment or any other. PrimalSQL returns an error stating unexpected token TYPE at line XX, pos XX. This is an actual field in the database and cannot be changed. The query works in all products except for PrimalSQL. Is there a way around this? Is this already set to be fixed in a later release? BTW, I am connecting to an Oracle database.

User avatar
davidc
Posts: 5398
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:56 am

Unable to use the word TYPE in statement

Post by davidc » Tue May 19, 2009 1:37 am

We are looking into this issue.

In the mean time you should be able to open a "SQL Document" and run the query from there. It will bypass the query builder's validation.

David
David
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
davidc
Posts: 5398
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:56 am

Unable to use the word TYPE in statement

Post by davidc » Fri May 22, 2009 1:42 am

I looked into this issue and since this is a Oracle keyword you will need to place it in quotes and qualify the tablename.

For example:

tablename."TYPE"


Daviddavidc2009-05-22 08:44:17
David
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.