Multiple packager Icons for .EXE

This forum can be browsed by the general public. Posting is limited to current SAPIEN license holders with active maintenance and does not offer a response time guarantee.
Forum rules
DO NOT POST LICENSE NUMBERS, ACTIVATION KEYS OR ANY OTHER LICENSING INFORMATION IN THIS FORUM.
Only the original author and our tech personnel can reply to a topic that is created in this forum. If you find a topic that relates to an issue you are having, please create a new topic and reference the other in your post.

Any code longer than three lines should be added as code using the 'Select Code' dropdown menu or attached as a file.
User avatar
CermakPOI
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 11:01 pm

Multiple packager Icons for .EXE

Post by CermakPOI »

Hi,
I would like to embed multiple icons in the final .exe so that i can select one of them as a shortcut icon.
Is this possible?

I'm expecting the answer to use an image list so i clarify again:
I want my icon not inside the GUI/application, NOT as an imagelist, but as an icon i can select for a shortcut.

Can i use the "Build Options" for this?

User avatar
SAPIEN Support Forums
Posts: 945
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 1:26 pm

Multiple packager Icons for .EXE

Post by SAPIEN Support Forums »

This is an automated post. A real person will respond soon.

Thank you for posting, CermakPOI.

Did you remember to include the following?
  • 1. Product, version and build (e.g. Product: PowerShell Studio 2014, Version & Build: 4.1.71. Version and build information can be found in the product's About box accessed by clicking the blue icon with the 'i' in the upper right hand corner of the ribbon.)
    2. Specify if you are running a 32 or 64 bit version
    3. Specify your operating system and if it is 32 or 64 bit.
    4. Attach a screenshot if your issue can be seen on the screen
    5. Attach a zip file if you have multiple files (crash reports, log entries, etc.) related to your issue.
If not, please take a moment to edit your original post or reply to this one.

*** Make sure you do not post any licensing information ***

User avatar
davidc
Posts: 5913
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:56 am

Re: Multiple packager Icons for .EXE

Post by davidc »

The packager doesn't support embedding multiple icons in its resources.

You could include icons with an installer and then use those to create the shortcuts.

David
David
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
CermakPOI
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 11:01 pm

Re: Multiple packager Icons for .EXE

Post by CermakPOI »

Thanks for the reply.
The Icons of the Shortcut shall change according to a specific state which is set by the script itself. (I recreate the Shortcut)
So i think i must use individual .ico files.

User avatar
CermakPOI
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 11:01 pm

Re: Multiple packager Icons for .EXE

Post by CermakPOI »

I found a working, automated solution via Resource Hacker:
My source files are for this are
i user portable ResourceHacker and put this as a subfolder of my Project
D:\PSScripts\MyGUI\resource_hacker\ResourceHacker.exe

The Packaged EXE:
D:\PSScripts\MyGUI\MyGUI.exe
The Icons:
D:\PSScripts\MyGUI\ICON2.ico
D:\PSScripts\MyGUI\ICON3.ico


I created a file called MyGUI.ini (Don't forget the trailing commas after the resource name 200, 300)

Code: Select all

[FILENAMES]
Exe=D:\PSScripts\MyGUI\MyGUI.exe
SaveAs=D:\PSScripts\MyGUI\MyGUI-icon.exe
Log=D:\PSScripts\MyGUI\resource_hacker\SWIFlag.log
[COMMANDS]
-add D:\PSScripts\MyGUI\ICON2.ico, IconGroup, 200,
-add D:\PSScripts\MyGUI\ICON3.ico, IconGroup, 300,
And a file MyGUI.cmd (All in one line)

Code: Select all

D:\PSScripts\MyGUI\resource_hacker\ResourceHacker.exe -script D:\PSScripts\MyGUI\resource_hacker\MyGUI.ini
The Result File contains the icons ordered by (default from packager is 107, then 200,300,...)
D:\PSScripts\MyGUI\MyGUI-icon.exe


Finally I use the cmd file as a Post-Build command in Powershell Studio -> i get my Exe file with my 3 icons inside :D

User avatar
davidc
Posts: 5913
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:56 am

Re: Multiple packager Icons for .EXE

Post by davidc »

Glad you found a workaround. Although make sure to test the package executable and verify that runs as expected.

David
David
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.