Page 1 of 1

PSS2015 not creating executable

Posted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 9:25 am
by PGomersall
Hi at Sapien,
Just upgraded to PowerShell Studio 2015 v4.2.77. I am running on Windows Server 2012 R2.
1) I open a psf file created in 2014; no issues
2) I check its build settings are correct
3) If I choose either Build or Build and Run the executable is not created (at least not in any expected place).
The output code for 2 examples are below:

>> Package 'D:\PS\PSS\Files\Copy-Items\Copy-Items.psf'
>> Building (Copy-Items.psf) ...
SAPIEN Package and Deploy Tool 4.0 (c) 2005 - 2015 SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

Adding D:\PS\PSS\Files\Copy-Items\Copy-Items.Package.ps1
Writing scripts to Copy-Items.exe
Embedding default manifest...

>> Completed


>> Package 'D:\PS\PSS\Files\Get-Logons\Get-Logons.psf'
>> Building (Get-Logons.psf) ...
SAPIEN Package and Deploy Tool 4.0 (c) 2005 - 2015 SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

Adding D:\PS\PSS\Files\Get-Logons\Get-Logons.Package.ps1
Writing scripts to Get-Logons.exe
Embedding default manifest...

>> Completed

PSS2015 not creating executable

Posted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 9:25 am
by SAPIEN Support Forums
This is an automated post. A real person will respond soon.

Thank you for posting, pgomersall.

Did you remember to include the following?
  • 1. Product, version and build (e.g. Product: PowerShell Studio 2014, Version & Build: 4.1.71. Version and build information can be found in the product's About box accessed by clicking the blue icon with the 'i' in the upper right hand corner of the ribbon.)
    2. Specify if you are running a 32 or 64 bit version
    3. Specify your operating system and if it is 32 or 64 bit.
    4. Attach a screenshot if your issue can be seen on the screen
    5. Attach a zip file if you have multiple files (crash reports, log entries, etc.) related to your issue.
If not, please take a moment to edit your original post or reply to this one.

*** Make sure you do not post any licensing information ***

Re: PSS2015 not creating executable

Posted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 10:19 am
by davidc
Also, do you see a file named <packager name>.exe.intermediate in the same folder?

Where <packager name> is the name of the output name you specified in the packager settings.

If this is the case, we are aware of this issue. You should be able to rename the file and it should work.

David

Re: PSS2015 not creating executable

Posted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 10:25 am
by PGomersall
Yes I do David. I did notice a previous post requesting a link to an older version that mentioned similar problem with PSS after I posted. Doing these steps work.
Thank you.
Pete

Re: PSS2015 not creating executable

Posted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 11:48 am
by davidc
I posted a temporary fix:

http://www.sapien.com/forums/viewtopic. ... 378#p45378

Please try the temp fix until we resolve the issue.

David

Re: PSS2015 not creating executable

Posted: Fri Feb 06, 2015 5:29 am
by martytx56
I had the same issue and the rename worked fine.

Re: PSS2015 not creating executable

Posted: Wed Feb 18, 2015 12:10 pm
by davidc
Please try the latest build 4.2.81 and lets us know if the issue is resolved.

David

Re: PSS2015 not creating executable

Posted: Tue Feb 24, 2015 8:14 am
by Cliving
I am unsure if this is relevant, but I didn't want to make another thread while there are already several covering this issue.

I have notices that most times when this happens, it is when I am working from a network location, specifically a DFS Namespace. I tend to keep all my projects on a network share that is a target of a DFS Namespace. There have been times that I don't have time to troubleshoot the .exe not being fully created issue when I have to get a patch out for one of our tools. What I have done before is save and close the project in PowerShell Studio, copy down the project directory to a local drive on my workstation, open the project from the local copy and build the package. Usually, this fixes the issue for me.

Could it be possible that working on a project from a network location is causing this issue? I just thought I'd bring this up in case it helps the devs resolve this issue.

Re: PSS2015 not creating executable

Posted: Tue Feb 24, 2015 10:08 am
by davidc
Always post a new topic even if it is the same issue. Otherwise the thread can get confusing when two people are responding.

David