Couldn't find cmdlet.cache after upgrade to 3.1.9

This forum can be browsed by the general public. Posting is limited to current SAPIEN license holders with active maintenance and does not offer a response time guarantee.
Forum rules
DO NOT POST SUBSCRIPTION NUMBERS, LICENSE KEYS OR ANY OTHER LICENSING INFORMATION IN THIS FORUM.
Only the original author and our tech personnel can reply to a topic that is created in this forum. If you find a topic that relates to an issue you are having, please create a new topic and reference the other in your post.

Any code longer than three lines should be added as code using the 'Select Code' dropdown menu or attached as a file.
User avatar
arjanbroeke
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 7:53 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Couldn't find cmdlet.cache after upgrade to 3.1.9

Post by arjanbroeke » Thu Oct 11, 2012 8:39 pm

I've upgraded my 3.0.8 PS Studio to 3.1.9 and receive the following messages, everytime I start the PS Studio on Win7 x64:

>> Building V20 64 Bit Information...
>> Please allow a few minutes for the caching to complete.
>> Completed V20 64 Bit Information
>> Building V20 32 Bit Information...
>> Please allow a few minutes for the caching to complete.
Could not find file 'C:ProgramDataSAPIENCachedData 2012Local MachinePowerShell64V20.Cmdlet.Cache'.
>> Completed V20 32 Bit Information
Could not find file 'C:ProgramDataSAPIENCachedData 2012Local MachinePowerShell32V20.Cmdlet.Cache'.


When I start the Studio on Win8 I receive the following everytime I start:

>> Building V2 64 Bit Information...
>> Please allow a few minutes for the caching to complete.
>> Completed V2 64 Bit Information
>> Building V2 32 Bit Information...
>> Please allow a few minutes for the caching to complete.
Could not find file 'C:ProgramDataSAPIENCachedData 2012Local MachinePowerShell64V2.Cmdlet.Cache'.
>> Completed V2 32 Bit Information
Could not find file 'C:ProgramDataSAPIENCachedData 2012Local MachinePowerShell32V2.Cmdlet.Cache'.


Cheers,
Arjan

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 7121
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 4:43 pm

Couldn't find cmdlet.cache after upgrade to 3.1.9

Post by Alexander Riedel » Thu Oct 11, 2012 8:42 pm

Can you please verify that it says V20 in one case and V2 in the other?
Also, please go to the folder and check what files are actually there.
Thanks!
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
arjanbroeke
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 7:53 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Couldn't find cmdlet.cache after upgrade to 3.1.9

Post by arjanbroeke » Thu Oct 11, 2012 8:52 pm

Hi Alexander,

I've the following files in the Win7 machine:
PowerShell32V2.Alias.Cache
PowerShell32V2.Cmdlet.Cache
PowerShell32V2.Modules.Cache
PowerShell32V2.Snapins.Cache
PowerShell32V2.Syntax.Cache
PowerShell64V2.Alias.Cache
PowerShell64V2.Cmdlet.Cache
PowerShell64V2.Modules.Cache
PowerShell64V2.Snapins.Cache
PowerShell64V2.Syntax.Cache

on the Win8 machine I've the following:
PowerShell32V3.Alias.Cache
PowerShell32V3.Cmdlet.Cache
PowerShell32V3.Modules.Cache
PowerShell32V3.Snapins.Cache
PowerShell32V3.Syntax.Cache
PowerShell64V3.Alias.Cache
PowerShell64V3.Cmdlet.Cache
PowerShell64V3.Modules.Cache
PowerShell64V3.Snapins.Cache
PowerShell64V3.Syntax.Cache

Cheers,
Arjan

User avatar
rtiel1
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 11:34 pm

Couldn't find cmdlet.cache after upgrade to 3.1.9

Post by rtiel1 » Fri Oct 12, 2012 12:50 am

I've the same problem, same error on Win7 x64 including powershell 2.0 and a computer including Win7 x64 with powershell 3.0.

Remco

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 7121
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 4:43 pm

Couldn't find cmdlet.cache after upgrade to 3.1.9

Post by Alexander Riedel » Fri Oct 12, 2012 12:54 am

We will look into it today.
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
davidc
Posts: 5913
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:56 am

Couldn't find cmdlet.cache after upgrade to 3.1.9

Post by davidc » Fri Oct 12, 2012 4:27 am

Arjan, on the Win7 x64 machine please post the value of the following registry keys:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESOFTWAREMicrosoftPowerShell1PowerShellEnginePowerShellVersion

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESOFTWAREMicrosoftPowerShell3PowerShellEnginePowerShellVersion

Thank you,

David
David
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
virusexpert
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 12:02 pm

Couldn't find cmdlet.cache after upgrade to 3.1.9

Post by virusexpert » Fri Oct 12, 2012 6:11 am

I have the same Issue.

My values are:
1 2.0
3 3.0

Windows 7 SP1 64-bit

User avatar
davidc
Posts: 5913
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:56 am

Couldn't find cmdlet.cache after upgrade to 3.1.9

Post by davidc » Fri Oct 12, 2012 6:35 am

virusexpert did you get a "V20" message instead of "V2" as well? Or did it just fail to load?

David
David
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
arjanbroeke
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 7:53 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Couldn't find cmdlet.cache after upgrade to 3.1.9

Post by arjanbroeke » Fri Oct 12, 2012 6:49 am

Hi David,

win7 : 2.0
win8 : 3.0

Cheers,
Arjan

User avatar
davidc
Posts: 5913
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:56 am

Couldn't find cmdlet.cache after upgrade to 3.1.9

Post by davidc » Fri Oct 12, 2012 6:54 am

One more question Arjan,

Does this machine have another Culture / Language set other then English?

David
David
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.