loading a powershell form

This forum can be browsed by the general public. Posting is limited to current SAPIEN license holders with active maintenance and does not offer a response time guarantee.
Forum rules
DO NOT POST SUBSCRIPTION NUMBERS, LICENSE KEYS OR ANY OTHER LICENSING INFORMATION IN THIS FORUM.
Only the original author and our tech personnel can reply to a topic that is created in this forum. If you find a topic that relates to an issue you are having, please create a new topic and reference the other in your post.

Any code longer than three lines should be added as code using the 'Select Code' dropdown menu or attached as a file.
User avatar
jblomberg
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 2:38 am

loading a powershell form

Post by jblomberg » Wed Jul 25, 2012 2:38 am



Normal
0




false
false
false

EN-US
X-NONE
X-NONE













MicrosoftInternetExplorer4



























































































































































/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:"Table Normal";
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-qformat:yes;
mso-style-parent:"";
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin-top:0in;
mso-para-margin-right:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt;
mso-para-margin-left:0in;
line-height:115%;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:11.0pt;
font-family:"Arial","sans-serif";
mso-ascii-font-family:Arial;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-fareast-font-family:"Times New Roman";
mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast;
mso-hansi-font-family:Arial;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-bidi-font-family:"Times New Roman";
mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi;}



Hello, I have a powershell form that when I run the script
though powershell studio loads differently than running from
powershell.exe. Does powershell studio
run the script a special way?

User avatar
davidc
Posts: 5913
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:56 am

loading a powershell form

Post by davidc » Wed Jul 25, 2012 3:51 am

Can you elaborate on what is different? Also are you running them on different platforms? Please include OS and PowerShell version information. David
David
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
jblomberg
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 2:38 am

loading a powershell form

Post by jblomberg » Wed Jul 25, 2012 4:19 am



Normal
0




false
false
false

EN-US
X-NONE
X-NONE













MicrosoftInternetExplorer4



























































































































































/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:"Table Normal";
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-qformat:yes;
mso-style-parent:"";
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin-top:0in;
mso-para-margin-right:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt;
mso-para-margin-left:0in;
line-height:115%;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:11.0pt;
font-family:"Arial","sans-serif";
mso-ascii-font-family:Arial;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-fareast-font-family:"Times New Roman";
mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast;
mso-hansi-font-family:Arial;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-bidi-font-family:"Times New Roman";
mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi;}



Sorry, Win7 64bit with powershell studio 3.0.7. I have
a function that runs and as it runs I have it update a listbox with the
progress of what it is doing. When I run
the script thought powershell studio it updates the progress correctly but if I
execute the script with powershell.exe it waits until the whole function is done then
updates the listbox all at once at the end of the function.

User avatar
davidc
Posts: 5913
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:56 am

loading a powershell form

Post by davidc » Wed Jul 25, 2012 4:40 am

I'm not sure why there is a difference. There could be any number of factors in the background including timing or the script itself though the engine doesn't handle form controls any differently. You can tell the control to refresh after each addition but you might get a blinking effect. David
David
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
jblomberg
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 2:38 am

loading a powershell form

Post by jblomberg » Wed Jul 25, 2012 4:53 am

Thanks, I will try a refresh. I see that when I run the script from powershell studio it runs the script though ScriptDriver64.exe. Is there a way I can try to run the powershell script though ScriptDriver64.exe and see if there is a change?jblomberg2012-07-25 11:58:56