Page 1 of 1

Post build command has stopped outputing to output pane

Posted: Wed Sep 05, 2018 5:13 pm
by owinsloe
To help you better we need some information from you.

*** Please fill in the fields below. If you leave fields empty or specify 'latest' rather than the actual version your answer will be delayed as we will be forced to ask you for this information. ***

Product, version and build:PSS 5.5.154
32 or 64 bit version of product:64
Operating system:windows10
32 or 64 bit OS:64

*** Please add details and screenshots as needed below. ***

DO NOT POST SUBSCRIPTIONS, KEYS OR ANY OTHER LICENSING INFORMATION IN THIS FORUM

I have a post build package utility that performs a number of function including constructing readme.txt files and relocating the newly built executable into software release folders and a local executing BIN folder.

As it performs it's functions it does a write-host to display it's activities and these used to appear in the PSS "Output" pane but this has stopped working.

Do I need to do something different to display output from a post build command?

See screen shots to show situation.

pic3 shows cnwpackage working and displaying to a powershell consol.

NOTE: cnwpackage still performs all the correct copies & moves, just does not output write-host lines to PSS output.

Tahns

Re: Post build command has stopped outputing to output pane

Posted: Thu Sep 06, 2018 7:23 am
by davidc
The text should be displayed in the Tools Output panel.

FYI, we plan to consolidate the Build messages into the Tools Output panel in a future release.

Re: Post build command has stopped outputing to output pane

Posted: Thu Sep 06, 2018 5:35 pm
by owinsloe
Hmmm....I'm obviously missing something.

On the Deploy tab I have an output pane that used to display the post command package output but now doesnt. All it displays is ">> Building (MainForm.psf) ...".

Is your response suggesting that these messages should be going there and that it currently doesnt...ie. something changed to prevent this and your FYI is suggesting that this will be corrected in a later release?

Re: Post build command has stopped outputing to output pane

Posted: Fri Sep 07, 2018 6:33 am
by davidc
In the 153 service release we added the Tools Output panel. Refer to the following article:

https://www.sapien.com/blog/2018/07/03/ ... t-support/

When building an executable, the output will be displayed there.