Powershell Studio - Intellisense

This forum can be browsed by the general public. Posting is limited to current SAPIEN license holders with active maintenance and does not offer a response time guarantee.
Forum rules
DO NOT POST SUBSCRIPTION NUMBERS, LICENSE KEYS OR ANY OTHER LICENSING INFORMATION IN THIS FORUM.
Only the original author and our tech personnel can reply to a topic that is created in this forum. If you find a topic that relates to an issue you are having, please create a new topic and reference the other in your post.

Any code longer than three lines should be added as code using the 'Select Code' dropdown menu or attached as a file.
User avatar
Andras
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu May 14, 2015 3:27 pm

Powershell Studio - Intellisense

Post by Andras » Mon May 07, 2018 10:07 pm

To help you better we need some information from you.

*** Please fill in the fields below. If you leave fields empty or specify 'latest' rather than the actual version your answer will be delayed as we will be forced to ask you for this information. ***

Product, version and build:5.5.152
32 or 64 bit version of product:64
Operating system: Windows 7 Enterprise
32 or 64 bit OS: 64

*** Please add details and screenshots as needed below. ***

Looking for some guidance in regards to this issue. In the PS Studio Console, when typing a cmdlet name such as new-cim <tab> tab completion is not completing the cmdlet to cycle through the Get-CimSession, Get-CimInstance etc. On the same PC using Visual Studio Code I do exactly the same thing and I get:

CommandType Name Version Source
----------- ---- ------- ------
Cmdlet Get-CimAssociatedInstance 1.0.0.0 CimCmdlets
Cmdlet Get-CimClass 1.0.0.0 CimCmdlets
Cmdlet Get-CimInstance 1.0.0.0 CimCmdlets
Cmdlet Get-CimSession 1.0.0.0 CimCmdlets
Cmdlet Invoke-CimMethod 1.0.0.0 CimCmdlets
Cmdlet New-CimInstance 1.0.0.0 CimCmdlets
Cmdlet New-CimSession 1.0.0.0 CimCmdlets
Cmdlet New-CimSessionOption 1.0.0.0 CimCmdlets
Cmdlet Register-CimIndicationEvent 1.0.0.0 CimCmdlets
Cmdlet Remove-CimInstance 1.0.0.0 CimCmdlets
Cmdlet Remove-CimSession 1.0.0.0 CimCmdlets
Cmdlet Set-CimInstance 1.0.0.0 CimCmdlets
Application Register-CimProvider.exe 10.0.14... C:\Windows\system32\Register-CimProvider.exe

Any suggestions on what might be wrong with my setup in the Powershell Studio Console where it can't see the regular CIM Cmdlets - I'm sure it is staring me in the face?

Thanks

User avatar
mxtrinidad
Site Admin
Posts: 354
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 12:42 pm

Re: Powershell Studio - Intellisense

Post by mxtrinidad » Tue May 08, 2018 5:00 am

Hum! I see no behavior using Windows 10 client. Which version of PowerShell Windows you're using?
Please type $PSVersionTable and paste the result.

It could be the version of PowerShell on your Windows 7.

:)

User avatar
davidc
Posts: 5913
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:56 am

Re: Powershell Studio - Intellisense

Post by davidc » Tue May 08, 2018 8:13 am

The embedded console is the original PowerShell.exe.
Just in case, verify that you have the correct platform (64 vs 32) selected from the combo box:
Console Selection.png
Console Selection.png (13.52 KiB) Viewed 1093 times
David
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
Andras
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu May 14, 2015 3:27 pm

Re: Powershell Studio - Intellisense

Post by Andras » Tue May 08, 2018 2:04 pm

appologies - missed that

Name Value
---- -----
PSVersion 5.1.14409.1012
PSEdition Desktop
PSCompatibleVersions {1.0, 2.0, 3.0, 4.0...}
BuildVersion 10.0.14409.1012
CLRVersion 4.0.30319.42000
WSManStackVersion 3.0
PSRemotingProtocolVersion 2.3
SerializationVersion 1.1.0.1