Execution Restrictions

Support for all customers who have purchased a SAPIEN PowerShell Studio product license. This forum does not offer a response time guarantee.
Forum rules
DO NOT POST SUBSCRIPTION NUMBERS, LICENSE KEYS OR ANY OTHER LICENSING INFORMATION IN THIS FORUM.
Only the original author and our tech personnel can reply to a topic that is created in this forum. If you find a topic that relates to an issue you are having, please create a new topic and reference the other in your post.

Any code longer than three lines should be added as code using the 'Select Code' dropdown menu or attached as a file.
User avatar
4n6pirate
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 3:34 pm

Execution Restrictions

Post by 4n6pirate » Mon Apr 16, 2018 12:18 pm

Scenario:

Created an execution restricted executable for different users to use. The executable was first created with domain and MAC address restrictions. Unfortunately, newer computers are not on the domain. When building a new restricted executable we're only restricting by MAC address and the newer machines are not able to run it. We also tried to run the executable on an older machine, not on the domain and are having similar problems.


Product, version and build: Sapien PowerShell Studio 2018, latest update.
32 or 64 bit version of product: 64 bit
Operating system: Windows 10
32 or 64 bit OS: 64 bit

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 6501
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 4:43 pm

Re: Execution Restrictions

Post by Alexander Riedel » Mon Apr 16, 2018 1:26 pm

"are not able to run it". Can you provide the specific error, message or behavior?
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
4n6pirate
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 3:34 pm

Re: Execution Restrictions

Post by 4n6pirate » Mon Apr 16, 2018 2:26 pm

Alexander Riedel wrote:
Mon Apr 16, 2018 1:26 pm
"are not able to run it". Can you provide the specific error, message or behavior?
Sorry,

Image

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 6501
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 4:43 pm

Re: Execution Restrictions

Post by Alexander Riedel » Mon Apr 16, 2018 3:05 pm

Have you verified that the MAC address specified for the restriction and the primary MAC address for the target system match?
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 6501
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 4:43 pm

Re: Execution Restrictions

Post by Alexander Riedel » Mon Apr 16, 2018 3:06 pm

I would probably help to see the .psbuild file. Can you email that to support@sapien.com?
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
4n6pirate
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 3:34 pm

Re: Execution Restrictions

Post by 4n6pirate » Mon Apr 16, 2018 3:58 pm

Alexander Riedel wrote:
Mon Apr 16, 2018 3:05 pm
Have you verified that the MAC address specified for the restriction and the primary MAC address for the target system match?
yes, even added every MAC from this ps command.

Get-WmiObject win32_networkadapterconfiguration | select description, macaddress

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 6501
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 4:43 pm

Re: Execution Restrictions

Post by Alexander Riedel » Mon Apr 16, 2018 4:14 pm

Ok, make a small "hello world" script and package it with the same settings you describe.
Verify it does not run on your systems as described.
Zip and upload the script, the .psbuild file and the resulting exe to https://www.sapien.com/support/upload
I'll see what I can find out.
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
4n6pirate
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 3:34 pm

Re: Execution Restrictions

Post by 4n6pirate » Tue Apr 17, 2018 7:35 am

Uploaded, Thanks for your help thus far.