Modules not showing in Object Browser

Support for all customers who have purchased a SAPIEN PowerShell Studio product license. This forum does not offer a response time guarantee.
Forum rules
DO NOT POST SUBSCRIPTION NUMBERS, LICENSE KEYS OR ANY OTHER LICENSING INFORMATION IN THIS FORUM.
Only the original author and our tech personnel can reply to a topic that is created in this forum. If you find a topic that relates to an issue you are having, please create a new topic and reference the other in your post.
User avatar
bpurchell
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 9:20 am

Modules not showing in Object Browser

Post by bpurchell » Mon Mar 20, 2017 10:06 am

Product, version and build: PowerShell Studio 2015 4.2.82
32 or 64 bit version of product: 32bit
Operating system:
32 or 64 bit OS: Windows 10 Anniversary Enterprise Edition 64bit
PowerShell Version: 5.1.14393.693

I had posted this in the "Customer Service" forum, but for whatever reason I wasn't able to reply. Basically none of my modules (ActiveDirectory, SQLPS, etc) show up in Object Browser - I see snappins but not modules. I tried running the "Build Module Cache.ps1" that was given to me, selected the modules and hit run - same results (not appearing). I also looked at the %APPDATA%\SAPIEN\CachedData2015\Local Machine at the Module cache files and they were empty. I manually added these entries to it:

ActiveDirectory|1.0.0.0|Active Directory Module
SQLPS|1.0|This module allows SQL Server administrators and developers to automate server administration

Which caused them to appear in the Object Browser, but when I try to expand them I get <EMPTY> even after rebuilding the cache. Any ideas?

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 6157
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 4:43 pm

Re: Modules not showing in Object Browser

Post by Alexander Riedel » Mon Mar 20, 2017 10:19 am

Please do not try to modify internal files manually unless specifically instructed to do so.
Is there any specific reason you are running a 32 bit version of the product on a 64 bit OS?
The module cache build script was made for the 2017 version, so it will not write to any 2015 folder.

Most likely this is a case of a botched installation where some required com objects did not get registered.
On the first startup after install PowerShell Studio runs a cache builder. It outputs messages in the output window, specially if there are errors.
Is there any chance you made a note of this output?
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
bpurchell
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 9:20 am

Re: Modules not showing in Object Browser

Post by bpurchell » Mon Mar 20, 2017 10:34 am

I installed the 32bit version just to see if that would fix it (was grasping at straws) - I had the 64 bit installed initially. I don't remember seeing any errors in the output window - but that isn't to say there wasn't any. Should I try uninstalling the application and delete any of the files that the uninstaller doesn't remove (e.g. the Cache folders)?

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 6157
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 4:43 pm

Re: Modules not showing in Object Browser

Post by Alexander Riedel » Wed Mar 22, 2017 10:45 am

yes. That would probably be best. I cannot really tell what happens without any hint of an error message.
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
bpurchell
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 9:20 am

Re: Modules not showing in Object Browser

Post by bpurchell » Wed Mar 29, 2017 6:27 am

This is fixed now, I uninstalled and deleted the cache files and then did a reinstall of the 64 bit version. Now I'm able to select v2 - 54 Powershell version and the modules appear. In my previous installation I could only select v3 and they weren't available.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests