After installing 5.4.140 it keeps running the Cache Builder on every application launch

Support for all customers who have purchased a SAPIEN PowerShell Studio product license. This forum does not offer a response time guarantee.
Forum rules
DO NOT POST SUBSCRIPTION NUMBERS, LICENSE KEYS OR ANY OTHER LICENSING INFORMATION IN THIS FORUM.
Only the original author and our tech personnel can reply to a topic that is created in this forum. If you find a topic that relates to an issue you are having, please create a new topic and reference the other in your post.
User avatar
selindgle
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2014 7:25 am

After installing 5.4.140 it keeps running the Cache Builder on every application launch

Post by selindgle » Thu Jun 15, 2017 6:16 am

Product, version and build: PowerShell Studio 2017 5.4.140
32 or 64 bit version of product: 64bit
Operating system: Win7 and Win10
32 or 64 bit OS: 64bit
PowerShell Version: 3.0 and 5.1

When installing 5.4.140, clean installation or on a client having had only the 2017 versions previously installed, the cache builder runs every time you start the application.
This is what you see in the output, which is expected once after upgrading but it should not happen on every launch:
>> Building Cache Information...
>> Please allow a few minutes for the caching to complete.
>> Completed Cache Information

However on a client that have had any previous PowerShell Studio 2016 version installed and had previously been upgraded to PowerShell Studio 2017, any version, and now upgrading to 5.4.140 it doesnt happen.
Issue is easy to recreate, you just install a fresh copy of 5.4.140 on a client that hasnt had PS Studio installed earlier.

This registry key is set to 0 after first time cache is rebuild after upgrade:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.\PowerShell Studio 2017\CacheBuilder\ BuildCache=0

This file "C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\SAPIEN\CachedData 2017\Local Machine\CacheBuilder64.inf" has this content:
[CacheBuilder]
Status=Finished
[Module]
Current=

This is the command-line used when installing:
"/exenoui /exenoupdates /exelog $configToolkitLogDir\$appNameUnderscore-EXE.log ADDLOCAL=Library,DefaultFeature,Required_Application,VisualCRedistrib,File_Type_Associations,ps1 /L*v $configToolkitLogDir\$installName-MSI.log /qb!"

We didnt see the same issue when installing 5.4.139.
Any idea why this is happening? Is there a bug in the 5.4.140 installation?

User avatar
davidc
Posts: 4982
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:56 am

Re: After installing 5.4.140 it keeps running the Cache Builder on every application launch

Post by davidc » Thu Jun 15, 2017 11:25 am

Do you see a CacheBuild32.inf?

If PowerShell Studio can't find any of these files or the Status=Failed, it will automatically rebuild the cache on start up.
David
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
selindgle
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2014 7:25 am

Re: After installing 5.4.140 it keeps running the Cache Builder on every application launch

Post by selindgle » Fri Jun 16, 2017 1:55 am

Hi,
No there is no CacheBuild32.inf in that folder on the failing machines. There is an ExternalCmds32.cache file though with a date of the last cache build (as well as an ExternalCmds64.cache).
If I copy CacheBuild32.inf from a working installation (machine that was upgraded to 5.4.140 but had had PS Studio 2016 installed in the past) then the cache build start act as normal.

How come this file is missing after upgrading to 5.4.140 and only on machines that have had only PS Studio 2017, earlier versions installed?

Do you say the workaround would be to just copy this file to the client after upgrade to 5.4.140?

Thanks,

User avatar
davidc
Posts: 4982
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:56 am

Re: After installing 5.4.140 it keeps running the Cache Builder on every application launch

Post by davidc » Fri Jun 16, 2017 8:22 am

It is possible the 32-bit components fail to register. Please try the following:

1. Run the following tool and check all the options:

C:\Program Files\SAPIEN Technologies, Inc\PowerShell Studio 2017\RegisterControls.exe
RegisterControls.png
RegisterControls.png (11.72 KiB) Viewed 435 times
2. Press OK.

3. Open PowerShell Studio and refresh the cache (Ribbon->Home->Platform->Refresh Local Cache):
Refresh Cache.png
Refresh Cache.png (33.03 KiB) Viewed 435 times
The inf file should appear.
David
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
selindgle
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2014 7:25 am

Re: After installing 5.4.140 it keeps running the Cache Builder on every application launch

Post by selindgle » Mon Jun 19, 2017 12:32 am

Hi David,

Unfortunately those steps didnt help, the CacheBuilder32.inf file was not created automatically by running them.
For me this issue sounds like it is something wrong with the 5.4.140 installation.

Have you been able to recreate the issue by doing a clean installation of 5.4.140?

FYI - we dont just see this on one installation. 6 out of 10 currently upgraded clients get the same cache build issue. Those 6 have only had PS Studio 2017 installed while the working 4 have had PS Studio 2016 or earlier versions installed. We have decided to skip deploying 5.4.140 and hope that this problem is fixed in the next upgrade.

Thank you!

Regards,
Leif Lindgren

User avatar
davidc
Posts: 4982
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:56 am

Re: After installing 5.4.140 it keeps running the Cache Builder on every application launch

Post by davidc » Mon Jun 19, 2017 7:55 am

I haven't heard any other reports but we will attempt to recreate the issue on our end.

Please try the following:

1. Uninstall PowerShell Studio
2. Delete the following folders if they still exist:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\SAPIEN Debugger 2017
C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\SAPIEN Debugger 2016

3. Reinstall 2017
4. Run PowerShell Studio and let the cache process finish.
David
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
selindgle
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2014 7:25 am

Re: After installing 5.4.140 it keeps running the Cache Builder on every application launch

Post by selindgle » Tue Jun 20, 2017 5:09 am

Hi,

I am sorry this issue was actually my fault!!!

Like I mentioned I use this cmd-line for the installation to customize the installation:
"/exenoui /exenoupdates /exelog $configToolkitLogDir\$appNameUnderscore-EXE.log ADDLOCAL=Library,DefaultFeature,Required_Application,VisualCRedistrib,File_Type_Associations,ps1 /L*v $configToolkitLogDir\$installName-MSI.log /qb!"

And it worked fine for the 5.3.xxx installation but for the 5.4.xxx I noticed this feature I also have to add: VisualCRedistrib_1
Which is required for the 32bit components...

So adding it to the cmd-line the cache build works as expected.

Thanks for all support!
//Leif

User avatar
davidc
Posts: 4982
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:56 am

Re: After installing 5.4.140 it keeps running the Cache Builder on every application launch

Post by davidc » Tue Jun 20, 2017 8:14 am

No problem, thank you for the update!
David
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.