Packaged VBScripts working directory

This forum can be browsed by the general public. Posting is limited to current SAPIEN license holders with active maintenance and does not offer a response time guarantee.
Forum rules
DO NOT POST LICENSE NUMBERS, ACTIVATION KEYS OR ANY OTHER LICENSING INFORMATION IN THIS FORUM.
Only the original author and our tech personnel can reply to a topic that is created in this forum. If you find a topic that relates to an issue you are having, please create a new topic and reference the other in your post.

Any code longer than three lines should be added as code using the 'Select Code' dropdown menu or attached as a file.
This topic is 8 years and 5 months old and has exceeded the time allowed for comments. Please begin a new topic or use the search feature to find a similar but newer topic.
User avatar
shocko
Posts: 5
Last visit: Wed Mar 13, 2019 3:40 pm

Packaged VBScripts working directory

Post by shocko »

Hi guys. When I package a vbscript it defaults to a working directory of c:\temp\ rather than the working directory from the calling cmd.exe. If I run a vbscript from cmd.exe it defaults to the working directory of cmd.exe. This is causing me headaches with my hundreds of scripts I was planning on packaging. Why does it use c:\temp\ ? Does the .exe run natively or does it simply a zip file of the script and extracts its contents and runs?
User avatar
SAPIEN Support Forums
Posts: 945
Last visit: Thu Oct 22, 2015 1:10 pm

Packaged VBScripts working directory

Post by SAPIEN Support Forums »

This is an automated post. A real person will respond soon.

Thank you for posting, shocko.

Did you remember to include the following?
  • 1. Product, version and build (e.g. Product: PrimalScript 2014, Version & Build: 7.0.46. Version and build information can be found in the product's About box accessed by clicking the blue icon with the 'i' in the upper right hand corner of the ribbon.)
    2. Specify if you are running a 32 or 64 bit version
    3. Specify your operating system and if it is 32 or 64 bit.
    4. Attach a screenshot if your issue can be seen on the screen
    5. Attach a zip file if you have multiple files (crash reports, log entries, etc.) related to your issue.
If not, please take a moment to edit your original post or reply to this one.

*** Make sure you do not post any licensing information ***
User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 8472
Last visit: Mon Mar 18, 2024 2:59 pm
Answers: 19
Been upvoted: 37 times

Re: Packaged VBScripts working directory

Post by Alexander Riedel »

What packager options are you using?
Specifically what engine type?
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.
User avatar
shocko
Posts: 5
Last visit: Wed Mar 13, 2019 3:40 pm

Re: Packaged VBScripts working directory

Post by shocko »

Apologies. I'm using PrimalScript 2012 and I haven't changed any packager options. I simply hit the 'Package' option on the Run tab
User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 8472
Last visit: Mon Mar 18, 2024 2:59 pm
Answers: 19
Been upvoted: 37 times

Re: Packaged VBScripts working directory

Post by Alexander Riedel »

That C:\Temp is a remnant from the old days where scripts had to be unpacked into temporary files. Try to add this code to the top of your script:
VBScript Code
Double-click the code block to select all.
Set oShell = CreateObject(”WScript.Shell”)
Set oFSO = CreateObject(”Scripting.FileSystemObject”)
oShell.CurrentDirectory = oFSO.GetParentFolderName(WScript.ScriptFullName)
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.
User avatar
shocko
Posts: 5
Last visit: Wed Mar 13, 2019 3:40 pm

Re: Packaged VBScripts working directory

Post by shocko »

Thanks I can try that ;). Can you tell me if this is fixed in the 2015 release of primal script/packager?
This topic is 8 years and 5 months old and has exceeded the time allowed for comments. Please begin a new topic or use the search feature to find a similar but newer topic.