Class Browser not display contents

Support for all customers who have purchased a PrimalScript product license. This forum does not offer a response time guarantee.
Forum rules
DO NOT POST SUBSCRIPTION NUMBERS, LICENSE KEYS OR ANY OTHER LICENSING INFORMATION IN THIS FORUM.
Only the original author and our tech personnel can reply to a topic that is created in this forum. If you find a topic that relates to an issue you are having, please create a new topic and reference the other in your post.

Any code longer than three lines should be added as code using the 'Select Code' dropdown menu or attached as a file.
User avatar
clum09
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 9:11 am

Class Browser not display contents

Post by clum09 » Fri Aug 10, 2018 8:41 am

Product, version and build: 7.4.115
32 or 64 bit version of product: 64-bit
Operating system: Windows 10
32 or 64 bit OS: 64 bit

This new version of PrimalScript periodically fails to display the function names in the editor's Class Browser pane when I open and work on more than one script in the editor. This is very annoying when I need to jump to a function to check out some code. This behavior does not seem to happen every time, but it happens randomly throughout the day when I work on multiple scripts.

I will provide a screen shot when this happens next time.

This behavior has never happened in PowerShell Studio with more than five scripts in the editor for some reason.

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 6685
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 4:43 pm

Re: Class Browser not display contents

Post by Alexander Riedel » Tue Aug 14, 2018 7:45 am

PowerShell Studio and PrimalScript are two entirely different products, so there is no correlation on that.
I'll have to check on that. When that happens, check if the function combobox on top of any of these files is empty too.
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
clum09
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 9:11 am

Re: Class Browser not display contents

Post by clum09 » Tue Aug 14, 2018 2:00 pm

I just took a screen shot of PrimalScript not showing anything in the Class Browser pane. I opened two scripts in PrimalScript, and when I tried to check the function names from the Class Browser pane, nothing showed up. See the attachment below. This behavior is very annoying and is happening randomly.
ClassBrowsers.jpg
ClassBrowsers.jpg (152.07 KiB) Viewed 560 times

User avatar
clum09
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 9:11 am

Re: Class Browser not display contents

Post by clum09 » Tue Aug 14, 2018 2:16 pm

After I had closed both scripts, and then I re-opened them in PrimalScript again, the Class Browser pane only shows the function names from one of the scripts - no function names showing for the second scripts. See the screen shot below.
ClassBrowsers2.jpg
ClassBrowsers2.jpg (133.2 KiB) Viewed 556 times
It only shows function names for Setup.ps1 and not for DeployVM.ps1 script. When I expanded the Globals folder in the pane, I only saw the function names from Setup.ps1 script.

User avatar
mxtrinidad
Site Admin
Posts: 224
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 12:42 pm

Re: Class Browser not display contents

Post by mxtrinidad » Tue Aug 14, 2018 4:12 pm

I was able to reproduce the issue. It's sporadic but it those happen.
We'll have our developer take a look at it and we'll get back as soon as possible.

Thanks for posting the issue!
PrimalScript_ClassBrowser_01_2018-08-14_19-08-21.jpg
PrimalScript_ClassBrowser_01_2018-08-14_19-08-21.jpg (135.04 KiB) Viewed 545 times

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 6685
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 4:43 pm

Re: Class Browser not display contents

Post by Alexander Riedel » Tue Aug 14, 2018 9:27 pm

It’s not helpful to see screenshots where it fails. It’s not like we don’t believe it.
Please refer to my question above about the navigation bar.
Also, is it possible to have the scripts in question? Generally when no navigation elements are displayed it is because the parser fails somewhere with the code
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
clum09
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 9:11 am

Re: Class Browser not display contents

Post by clum09 » Wed Aug 15, 2018 10:28 am

Here is another example of the Class Browser pane not showing the function names of the scripts currently opened in PrimalScript.
ClassBrowsers3.jpg
ClassBrowsers3.jpg (299.82 KiB) Viewed 504 times
The Class Browser pane only shows the functions from Get-DeployVMXMLData.ps1 script, but failed to show the functions from DeployVM.ps1 script. This is very annoying, and it is difficult to use this editor to write scripts when I need to look up functions within the script.

User avatar
mxtrinidad
Site Admin
Posts: 224
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 12:42 pm

Re: Class Browser not display contents

Post by mxtrinidad » Wed Aug 15, 2018 10:56 am

Just an FYI

We can reproduce the issue and will be fix on our next product.

Thanks again for the post!

User avatar
Alexander Riedel
Posts: 6685
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 4:43 pm

Re: Class Browser not display contents

Post by Alexander Riedel » Wed Aug 15, 2018 11:07 am

As Max pointed out we isolated the issue. It would be extremely helpful if in the future you would answer the questions we post. It will make things go faster. Thanks.
Alexander Riedel
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.