Cannot Delete Module Info within the Cache

Support for all customers who have purchased a SAPIEN PowerShell Studio product license. This forum does not offer a response time guarantee.
Forum rules
DO NOT POST SUBSCRIPTION NUMBERS, LICENSE KEYS OR ANY OTHER LICENSING INFORMATION IN THIS FORUM.
Only the original author and our tech personnel can reply to a topic that is created in this forum. If you find a topic that relates to an issue you are having, please create a new topic and reference the other in your post.

Any code longer than three lines should be added as code using the 'Select Code' dropdown menu or attached as a file.
User avatar
jasonv
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 8:28 am

Cannot Delete Module Info within the Cache

Post by jasonv » Wed Sep 19, 2018 6:41 am

To help you better we need some information from you.

*** Please fill in the fields below. If you leave fields empty or specify 'latest' rather than the actual version your answer will be delayed as we will be forced to ask you for this information. ***

Product, version and build: 5.5.153
32 or 64 bit version of product: 64
Operating system: Windows 10 Professional
32 or 64 bit OS: 64

I seem to be having issues deleting modules from the cache using the cache editor. I made sure my module paths were set correctly and I did a file search to see if there was another copy of the module I was attempting to remove (Unchecked and used "Remove Module"). Each time I reloaded ("Reload All") the modules within the cache editor the non-active "old" version of the module would show up again. I also tried deleting the V5-64 bit version of the cache and rebuilt it.

I ended up accessing the preset cache data here ...

C:\ProgramData\SAPIEN\PresetCache 2018\ModuleCacheV5

... and deleting the old module information. I know I'm probably not suppose to do this, but I believe it was messing up the recognition of new functions within the module after a cache refresh. This did fixed the issue.

The module installer and manifest version were both updated.

If there is something else I need to do within the application to remove a module and make the cache editing function work, please let me know.

Thanks.

*** Please add details and screenshots as needed below. ***

DO NOT POST SUBSCRIPTIONS, KEYS OR ANY OTHER LICENSING INFORMATION IN THIS FORUM

User avatar
davidc
Posts: 5546
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:56 am

Re: Cannot Delete Module Info within the Cache

Post by davidc » Wed Sep 19, 2018 8:15 am

The "Remove Module" button simply deletes the preset cache file. I suspect that it failed due to a permissions issue.

The good news is we already made changes to the caching process to address permission issues in the next service release.
David
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.

User avatar
jasonv
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 8:28 am

Re: Cannot Delete Module Info within the Cache

Post by jasonv » Wed Sep 19, 2018 11:01 am

Awesome! I hope this fixes the issue. Thanks for the quick response.

User avatar
davidc
Posts: 5546
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:56 am

Re: Cannot Delete Module Info within the Cache

Post by davidc » Tue Oct 09, 2018 9:02 am

Please try the latest service release of PowerShell Studio (v5.5.155).
David
SAPIEN Technologies, Inc.